It’s Not You, It’s me; Anastasia Beverly Hills Glow Kit

I can’t be the only one that’s had this moment. You hear about this new “cult favorite” product everywhere you go; YouTube, Instagram you name it. You finally get your hands on it after scrimmaging through your savings or after it’s finally back in stock. It’s finally in your hands, you dream of it all night. Finally, morning, it’s time. You swipe that brush across the pan and slather it onto your face, or sometimes it’s less instant than that, sometimes the moment happens later on in the day when faced with your reflection. No matter the situation, the moment is the same; SHIT, wait what? This looks terrible?!?!?!??! There’s always the desperate attempts to re-try it again throughout the week, maybe you applied it wrong? Maybe you got a dud batch? Maybe it’s your skin, definitely your skin right? OMG maybe you got a fake!? How, how, how, can something everyone loves not work for you at all? It must be you, not the product, right?

This happens to me more often than not, and so I’ve decided to write a (probably weekly) segment called “It’s not you, it’s me” where I offer my review of a product that everyone loved but I hated, and try to argue my case. As you can already see by the title and the featured image; I decided to go hard with the first edition.

IMG_8544

The Anastasia Beverly Hills Glow Kits have earned themselves a cult-like following; worshipping the palette and devoted to the glow. Naturally, as any recovering highlight-overdose-ee, I immediately bought one. I initially wanted it in ‘That Glow’ but it was out of stock and so I settled for ‘Gleam,’ I needed this kit. I had spent the past month only using Jaclyn Hill’s Champagne Pop Becca Collaboration, and so I had grown well-accustomed to that intense sheen-y strobe of light across the tops of my cheeks; to put it simply, my body was ready. Apparently, the feeling wasn’t mutual.

b108f4a67f8d2f4f9d3127a03a6b613b

I swiped my Sigma F35 across the pan, mixing two of the shades together; swept it across my cheeks aaaaand nothing. Ok, not nothing, sorry I have a flare for the dramatics. But it was the most natural highlight I had worn in months. It also wasn’t helping that it was really emphasizing any slight texture I had on my cheeks. So I went in for round 2 the next day, this time with my Real Techniques Bold Metal 300 brush, I knew this one really packed on the product while also blending it in; I couldn’t go wrong with this if I tried. Again, underwhelmed. This is not to say that this is a failed product for me, it was just falsely advertised by my favorite beauty gurus! I was promised the most intense highlight of my life and god damn it, it wasn’t! Another element that didn’t work for me was the colors, now Gleam is the lighter palette with more pearl-y shades, and still there were only really two colors that I could use with my light-medium skin tone. The other two shades were way too dark, and when I considered trying That Glow from my friend, none of those shades were light enough for me to highlight with; blush or bronzer toppers? Sure.

So I was disappointed, especially considering that the individual ABH highlighters had given me life on numerous occasions. In general, the brand never disappoints me, and these highlighters never disappointed anyone. So it must be me? How could this be the same product everyone talks about unless it were me or my skin that just wasn’t working with it?

So, let me know below your experiences with the palette. Perhaps it also disappointed some of you, or perhaps you have some tips for me! Either way, I’m sure it’s not the palette, it’s me.

 

Thank you for reading!

 

Xoxo, CFML

 

23 Comments Add yours

  1. nikkimccaig says:

    This post was actually really funny, I loved your review of it! I was actually considering trying out the Anastasia highlighter but I think I’ll hold off for now. Any others you can recommend instead? xx

    Like

    1. Awww haha thank you, I really appreciate the comment! If I’m honest the Becca Champagne Pop is definitely the most dramatic smooth highlight I’ve ever gotten. And then for more natural days, the Laura mercier baked matte radiance powder is beautiful! I just love pairing any highlighter with a liquid highlighter base, like before foundation I’ll put some liquid on the areas I want to highlight with powder later on- it really helps! Sorry for the rant, I feel like I’m always waiting to be able to talk to people about makeup in my comments haha xx

      Like

      1. nikkimccaig says:

        Oooh I’ve heard about the Laura Mercier radiance powder! It sounds absolutely amazing ❤ I'll have to try it out! Haha that's ok! I feel exactly the same, I'm constantly ranting to people about the make up I love…whether or not they're interested in it at all 😛 xx

        Like

  2. I can feel your pain. That is so unfortunate.

    Like

  3. sarahbrades says:

    Love this honest review haha. To me the Glow kit just looks cheap, i think its the packaging, so i have stayed clear of it. Now after reading this review i know i made the right decision

    Like

  4. Loved your review. Have you tried the new Becca/Jaclyn highlight Prosecco Pop? I’m hoping this will be the winner for my pale British complexion.

    Like

    1. Omg no not yet, eagerly waiting for June 16th- aren’t we all :p. I’ll pray for us both :p xoxo

      Liked by 1 person

  5. puddlesofinkk says:

    Brilliant idea for a series – I can’t wait to see the other products you feature! I knew these were too pretty to be perfect!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you sweetheart!! It’s just so heartbreaking. Fingers crossed for the new sun-dipped glow kit!

      Liked by 1 person

  6. I actually have this product and love it! But I love your honest review of it. Have you tried using a fan brush for application?

    Like

    1. No actually, I’m always trying to find the perfect fan brush though. Like they’re either too thin or too packed, I don’t know what would you suggest? I’ll definitely try it, cause I really did want to like it 💔💔

      Like

      1. I just got mine from Sigma

        Like

      2. Thank you! Definitely going to try it. I hear a lot about morphe brushes fan brush, but why morphe when you can go for the OG sigma haha thanks for the suggestion xoxo

        Like

  7. I have a ABH That Glow kit and although I do love it, (I have reviewed it also!), I noticed after a few times of wearing it the way it sometimes shows the texture of your skin that you mentioned! Other than that I do really love mine though, but such a nice honest review 😍 loved reading it xxxx

    Like

    1. You know I’m going to have to try it tomorrow haha. All the comments on this post are starting to push me to try yet again. Plus if your pictures are any indication, the highlight is gorgeous and definitely worth another attempt haha! Thank you for reading love xoxo

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I do really like mine! I use ” bubbly ” daily & “sunburst” is great for an inner corner eye highlighter too! But I can definitely see where you’re coming from with the texture. As far as pigmentation though, “bubbly” definitely shows up a nice amount on my skin for me, it’s hands down my favourite colour in the palette and I get comments on it too!! Deffo try it and let me know what you thought! & you’re welcome, I love reading your blog! xxxx

        Like

  8. wendie says:

    I’ve not heard any good reviews about these newbies, yet ppl swear by the original contour palette that you mentioned.
    Great blog so funny x

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yeah it’s so confusing!! Still gonna keep trying it though like I need for it to work :p thank you, love! Xoxo

      Liked by 1 person

      1. wendie says:

        I feel you hehe! I rediscovered Mac mineralise skinfinish and I’m getting lots of compliments and it photographs well.
        Use it before your blush after contour see if that helps xx

        Like

      2. Omg I’ve always wanted to try mineralize skin finish! Need to try it! Love the post xoxo

        Liked by 1 person

  9. Taylor says:

    I just received the Ultimate Glow Kit. In the past, I have used Champagne Pop and Laura Gellars gilded honey…..both are fabulous! I could not wait to get the Ultimate Glow Kit. Words cannot express how disapponted I am. As you said, it has this strange texture thing going on and I actually had to wet my brush to get the product to apply. So sad….I was so excited and the colors really are beautiful. I think Ill be sticking with my champagne pop and laura gellar.

    Like

Leave a Reply

