Ipsy Unboxing-My Moment is Finally Here…

IMG_9838

The excitement has never been more real. It’s been years now that I’ve been watching and reading people’s beauty subscription unboxings, they’re probably one of my favourite videos to watch (shoutout to Eleventhgorgeous). Finally, the moment eagerly awaited came last week when I subscribed to not one, but two beauty boxes. When it came to choosing it was a no-brainer; Birchbox and Ipsy. Ipsy was definitely going to happen, mostly because aside from the many unboxing videos, my top favourite beauty gurus were a part of it; from Desi Perkins to Chrisspy, I was sold.

FullSizeRender (5)

So, after a brief screaming session while ripping the pretty metallic pink packaging open -I knew I had to sit down and write my first impressions immediately. The first thing I saw was the slip with a picture of Katy (YASSSS, I thought to myself), I love Katy so the excitement was already building up haha. Now, let me say; Ipsy are smart about how they package these things, because I’m sure there was strategic thinking behind the Urban Decay eyeshadow being on top, and it worked. Just seeing it alone got me excited for what else the bag held. The eyeshadow was in the shade Lounge and this was a gorgeous blue-brown shade, just one swipe gave the most gorgeous pigmented swatch of a reddish-brown with teal specks -seriously excited to use this!

FullSizeRender (6)

Next was a “Julie”nail polish, my Ipsy-unboxing-video watching experience tells me this is a common brand, but I’ve never tried it so all I had to go off of was the shade and I tend to lean towards mint colors for nails, especially in the summer. So this product was exciting, and it seems full-size too so that was a yay.

FullSizeRender (7)

Now, when I saw the Colourpop packaging I was convinced this was the best box ever. I’ve always wanted to try their eyeliners, everyone seems to swear by their longevity and pigmentation so I was excited to finally try it; and it was a black shade so I knew I’d get a lot of use out of it whether through tight-lining or even a cat flick if it glides as smoothly on the eyes as it did on my hand.

FullSizeRender (8)

This is where the excitement began to die down. I picked out this “crown 3 tone bronzer,” while the idea seemed promising the product was too tiny for me to use each colour separately. So, I knew it’d just be a swirl-the-brush-all-over kind of product and see what shade I get. It swatched kind of patchy, so I’m not too eager on this product.

FullSizeRender (9)

Again, disappointment. This “Everything balm” sounds either fun or gimmicky, I cant figure it out. I’m yet to try this product, and it could be life-changing but for now I’m not too pumped. The texture seemed interesting so I’ll keep you guys posted. I’m not sure how it’s going to work as a plumping balm and also brightening -let’s just say it promises a lot.

So that’s it for my first beauty subscription box. I’m definitely going to stick around and see what they have to offer next month, until then I’m eagerly awaiting when I can write my Birchbox post 🙂

 

img_9638

10 Comments Add yours

  1. palomiepie says:

    I just subscribed to Ipsy this past month because of KathleenLights and Eleventhgorgeous lol! My 3 tone bronzer was cracked so i just got a new one in the mail. Not sure how to use it yet lol.

    Like

  2. Love this and love the flat lays

    Like

  3. lovelilsx says:

    Such a great post have given you a follow💛😘

    Like

  4. beautydeets says:

    Oh, my gosh! I wanted the Urban Decay eyeshadow and Colourpop Liner SO BADLY! But honestly, I saw Kathleenlights get the UD shadow and it looks just like ‘insomniac’ by MUG. I don’t know if it’s just my eyes or what but that’s the first thing I thought of when I saw that shadow… And MUG is less than half the price with just as good pigmentation/longevity! I only have 8 Colourpop lip products ranging from the Ultra Satin Lip to Matte Lip stix/Lip Liners. I’d LOVE to know how the EYE liners are! ((:

    Like

    1. That’s so true! I just thought of Mac blue brown but if there’s a MUG dupe then for sure it’s irrelevant. Me too! I’ve only tried their lippie stix but I keep hearing the gel eyeliners are like really good and long lasting to tightline with- I’ll let you know as soon as I try it 🙂 so funny how we each wish we had products from each other’s boxes haha. Thank you for reading my post though, you’re too sweet 🙂 xoxo

      Liked by 1 person

  5. Ok so now Im gonna try out ipsy and see what treasures I uncover

    Like

    1. Lmao yes go for it! Try birchbox too I liked it more check my next post 🙂 xoxo

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Love the beauty advise you give. Yes I’m gonna try birch box too! Definitely will be checking out your next post😀

        Liked by 2 people

  6. Love the unboxing love reading about the makeup and beauty products!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

