It’s Not You It’s Me: Elf’s High Definition Undereye Setting Powder…

Baking has been a difficult feat for me to pull off. It’s been a troubled tumble into the world of setting undereyes, I’ve tried different methods and even more different products. I just couldn’t seem to get it right for ages. I eventually figured out a happy medium that worked for me; lightly pressing loose powder onto my undereyes but brushing away instantly – not really baking I guess, but it works for me haha. Either way, two components remain constant: a concealer and a loose powder. In this edition of “It’s Not You It’s Me” I’d like to talk about the overhyped Elf’s High Definition Undereye Setting powder. I’d heard Shaaanxo rave about this a fair amount, and many others followed her.
The way it was described sounded ideal. It had promised to smooth out my undereyes and set them to avoid creasing for hours upon hours, as well as avoiding any flashback or raccoon eyes! This sounded like all the pros that my baking wasn’t achieving. So of course at the price point of $3 I was willing to try my luck.


There were many different factors that made me hate this tiny guy; that in and of itself is reason number one. Don’t let the photo fool you, it’s a million times tinier than it looks. The tiny packaging made it almost impossible to get my beauty blender in to pick up product; I found myself having to pour it out onto the table to use it which was a hassle that wasn’t fun to deal with! Other than that the product is also seriously overpacked which seems like a good thing, but when you have to deal with fallout all over the place and a huge mess it gets a little annoying.
In terms of formula; I had tried Elf’s same powder for the face and that had worked wonders for me. I could visibly see it blur my pores away and smooth out my skin’s texture (or at least fake a smooth texture!). So I was excited to see this more targeted version do the exact same for my undereyes; I was wrong. 


Crusty cakey undereyes that crease instantly and stand out from the rest of my face is not usually what I’m after when buying a translucent loose powder. So let’s begin the run down. The first and weirdest negative effect this powder had was that it made my undereyes dark. I don’t know how to explain this or how it happened, the way I’ve explained it to myself is that it almost picked up the color of my foundation or concealer but kind of oxidized it. It just made my undereyes stand out to be a different color than the rest of my skin and not in a Kim Kardashian way! Other than that this stuff just dragged under my eyes, with every pat of powder my concealer was moving out of place, and once I managed to fix that I’d end up with cakey undereyes. This was just a train wreck in every way possible. I decided to give up on loose powders and blamed it on my undereyes, until I found Mac’s Prep + Prime which I’ve talked about before, then I realized it was the product to blame. 

So here I am yet again, as I will be many times I’m sure; hating a product that everyone lives for! Let me know if you’ve tried this powder and how it was for you! 

19 Comments Add yours

  1. oh man I completely agree. this powder is so drying and crease prone. i need to chuck mine. i still have the old formulation with the stupid little glitters in it too lol

    Like

    1. Omg seriously? Thank you!! I thought I was alone haha. Oh god hahaha I heard about the glitters. Thank you for reading! Xoxo

      Like

  2. I’ve never tried this powder but I’ve heard it’s not great from others. Now I will definitely avoid it

    Like

    1. Haha trust me you won’t regret it. But try out mac’s prep and prime, it’s a seriously amazing powder!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Good to know, thanks!

        Like

  3. Aaliyah says:

    I’ve wanted to try this product but this is the first time I’ve heard something other than good! It looks super tiny in the photo, I never knew it was that small!

    Like

    1. It’s even tinier than that!!! So not worth the hassle in the end. Thank you for reading xoxo

      Liked by 1 person

  4. I’m also on the hunt for the perfect undereye powder to set my concealer. So the Mac one works for you? I’m so over the creased under eye look 😦

    Pity this didn’t work for you. We don’t have ELF here in South Africa so couldn’t try it even if I wanted to. ha ha

    Like

    1. Don’t worry you aren’t missing out hahahah. Yesss the Mac one is seriously an underrated gem! It works wonders. Makeup forevers HD powder also works pretty well. Let me know if you try them out 🙂 xoxo

      Liked by 1 person

  5. I was so close to ordering this but I’m now so glad I didn’t!! Even though the price is good, if it doesn’t have much product it definitely takes away from the value. The collection pressed powder is very powdery indeed and so if you use the excess that comes off when you use a brush and put it on a beauty blender, it works a dream!! 💗✨

    Like

    1. That’s so interesting. I’m obsessed with Mac’s but I’d definitely try a cheaper option, I’ll keep an eye out for it thank you!! Xoxo

      Like

      1. It’s only £1.99 and works quite well so even if it’s not for you it is still a decent powder on its own xx

        Like

  6. kathylei says:

    I actually can’t get enough of your stream-of-thought type posts, they are everything! Keep up the fab writing, girl! ❤

    Like

    1. Aww that’s actually the sweetest comment I’ve ever gotten. You have no idea how much it means!! Thank you so much and thank you for reading, can’t believe I just realized I still don’t follow you- I always read your blogs so that’s silly haha. Thank you xoxo

      Liked by 1 person

      1. kathylei says:

        No probs, darling! I really do look forward to reading them! 🙂 Lol, thanks for following! xxx

        Like

  7. I use Airspun translucent powder religiously for baking! I like it a lot better than elfs

    Like

  8. I heard many bloggers raving about it. Like you said Shaanxo and Kathleenlights said she loves it too. So I really wanted to try it. But now 😊 Nevermind.. 😂😂 Thank you so much sharing your honest opinions 👍💕 Can’t wait to read more from this series.

    Like

  9. Hey! Thanks for the great and honest review! If you would like to be featured on my makeup-related Q and A, please feel free to leave a question on my blog to be featured! Thanks!

    Like

  10. Awesome review! I will not be rushing to buy this. There have been so many positive reviews. It must be tiny too haha. x

    Like

Leave a Reply

