Birchbox Bust Strikes Again- P.s. The b**** is back…

IMG_3434

After my diagnosis of a “birchbox bust” last month, my expectations were definitely lowered and unfortunately this month’s box didn’t do a great job of changing that! This month’s box was set up to fail for me personally; “this month is all about hair!” As I’ve mentioned many times here, I don’t tend to get super excited over hair products- I’m more than willing to test out new ones but if I’m honest when subscribing to these beauty boxes I was mostly looking for makeup and skincare. Now this theme wasn’t so soul-crushing because luckily for me, they hardly stuck to it with a whopping count of ONE hair product. There were two products however that were defintiely exciting, but Birchbox is still struggling to carry it’s weight in comparison to Ipsy lately – the pressure is on for September!

IMG_3435

Davines Your Hair Assistant Blowdry Primer-Let’s get the hair out of our face and our way shall we? So this product definitely isnt uber disappointing, promising antihumidity and volume building while also adding shine. I’m always in the market for a new heat-protectant spray so this one sounds intriguing, I’ve heard a lot about the brand so it should be cute to try out. Also I’m most tempted by it’s promise to reduce blow-dry time, always open to that!

IMG_3436

Key West Aloe Cucumber Eye Gel- I hate eye gels. I’m sorry for the pessimism, but while I understand the cooling effect they can have they just dont do much for my underyes. They promise hydration and de-puffing but usually they just irritate my undereyes and leave them feeling dry. I’m more than willing to try this out obviously, it has chamomile, cucumber and aloe which all sound good to me. Keep an eye out for this one in a disappointing products post -or maybe my super pessimism will be proven wrong and you’ll find it in a favourites!

IMG_3439

Manna Kadar Cosmetics Fantasy Shade from the Day Dream Palette –If you’re like me, then when you think Manna Kadar you think vanity mirrors. So I was pleasantly surprised to realize that they actually also produce makeup. The sample given here was one of the shadows from a do-it-all palette including a blush, highlighters and contour shades; and after trying out this shadow’s formula, I’m seriously considering investing in the palette. First of all the shade is a gorgeous metallic golden beige which falls perfectly between warm and cool. When I saw this it instantly reminded me of a slightly deeper Champagne Pop. This shade would work perfectly as an inner-corner pop of light, or even better as a smooth highlighter. It swatched creamily and beautifully and I’m actually pretty excited for this bad boy!

IMG_3438

Stila Stay All Day Liquid Lipstick in PatinaI don’t have much to say about this, it’s a cult favourite of mine and I’m more than happy to have a cute travel sized version to carry around instead of their usual rather big tube. For a detailed review of how I feel about this you can refer to my liquid lipsticks post where I wrote about it!

IMG_3437

Vasanti BrightenUp! Enzymatic Face Rejuvenator– I’m all about a good scrub, anything that promises to mimic the effects of microdermabrasion is worth a try in my book. It promises glowing, smooth skin which checks a few boxes of mine! I’ve never heard of this brand or tried any of their products which lessens my excitement, but you never know when you might discover the next big thing!

Let me know what you thought of your Birchbox. I’ve been seeing some exciting ones with Oribe products and Bumble & Bumble -so so jealous!

P.s. Sorry I’ve been completely AWOL the past couple of weeks. Between my birthday, an impromptu trip to Chicago, and spending my final days with the best friend on her trip here- I completely lost track of time. Everytime I decided to write my mind would be completely blocked by all the excitement around me haha. Things are finally back to normal and I can finally dedicate all my time to this now which makes me extremely happy 🙂 Thank you for bearing with me!

img_0731

 

5 Comments Add yours

  1. I’ve been contemplating whether or not I should subscribe to Birchbox… Do you think it’s with it?

    Like

  2. Healthy_Glow says:

    This month’s box doesn’t look bad

    Like

  3. I was under the influence that Birchbox was better than Ipsy.. After reading your post am not sure on subscribing for Birchbox..

    Like

  4. Maha Shahid says:

    I really like your writing style, it’s so engaging and fun 😀 Do try the Vasanti Brightener Scrub it’s not bad. Does a good job, at least it did on my skin😉 and I couldn’t agree more with you on this that I also subscribe to beauty boxes as I want to try new makeup goodies. Hair stuff doesn’t get me excited much. Loved the post.

    Like

  5. I got both the oribe and bumble and bumble but I unsubscribed from Birchbox. I wish they would bring their terrific points system back.

    Like

Leave a Reply

