Ipsy Unboxing

Following the tie, I was possibly most excited for this past month’s subscription’s to arrive more than ever. I’d hoped when I first subscribed that a favourite would grow clear- but I was left conflicted with back and forth wins and losses. Last week’s tie made this one so much more excited- and so far it’s not looking so good for Ipsy…

img_8428

ModelCo Contour Stick- Let’s start on a relatively positive note. While I don’t know much about this brand, I’ve always been interested in dabbling in contour sticks. This seemed cheap considering the packaging, but when swatching it I actually realized how smooth and creamy it was. It glided on so smoothly and blended out easier than most do, and seamlessly too! The colour is a perfect contour shade for me; I will say however, that some of you may find it too warm and not grey-toned enough to get away with contouring with it, but it worked perfectly for me. The formula is seriously impressive so I would definitely recommend giving it a try!

Verb Ghost Oil- Another brand I haven’t heard of, although I’m pretty sure I’ve seen it in Sephora. We all know how I feel about hair products, but this seemed intriguing. The “Ghost” name it’s given is based on its weightlessness- it promises to “pull a quick disappearing act”in your hair by improving them and leaving them sleek without any visible residue or build up of product. It has some interesting ingredients such as the moringa oil that helps soften and hydrate, or the soy protein and bamboo extract that help strengthen your strands. I’m interested to try this, but I can’t say I’m too excited.

Too Faced Better Than Sex Mascara –Ok, I know what you’re thinking, how can I complain after finding this in my bag? But the truth is, while the brand name is a beauty household name and this product is infamous- I just haven’t been the hugest fan. When the Better Than Sex mascara was first released I was possibly it’s biggest fan girl- but after a few months it didn’t do much for me, and when I repurchased it in the waterproof formula I really didn’t like it. So I strayed from it for a while now. This is the only reason I’m partially glad to have received this- because I’d like to give it another chance and see if it might work for me.

Doucce Freematic Blush in #49 Zen Orange-I’ve got nothing. I have never heard of this brand and the packaging was certainly less than impressive. It came in a tiny single eyeshadow kind of packaging as you can see, with a cheap plastic lid. But I was still more than willing to give it a try, mostly because the shade is exactly what I look for in a blush. But when applying this it went on very pigmented in the worst way possible- it gave my cheeks a patchy finish and was almost impossible to blend out. Terrible experience with this one so it’s definitely not a winner for me!

Luxie Beauty Rose Gold Small Duo Fibre Brush- Where Doucce failed, Luxie Beauty came through! I’ve heard so much about this brushes line, and seen it all over instagram- so I was definitely more than excited to see it in here! I was disappointed in the brush itself, I don’t tend to find much use for Duo Fibre brushes. However, this still was a good find for me in here- I’m yet to try it and perhaps I’ll realize I was doing duo fibre all wrong!

So that’s it for now, I find it hard to believe Birchbox could do much worse than this- but I’ve been wrong before! Let me know your verdict or what you got in yours!

thank-you-for-reading

5 Comments Add yours

  1. I love the review. Nice done 🙂

    Like

  2. McKenzMorgan says:

    Love the Too Faced Better Than Sex Mascara!

    Like

  3. I fell out of love too with TF mascara. After a few times of using it the formula changed and flakes off of my lashes.

    Like

  4. The Prep The Punk The Posh says:

    I got none of the same products in mine, and while I loved the bag, I wasn’t impressed at all by what I got this month. The only thing I liked was getting another Porefessional sample as my last one ran out. November was a bust, but here’s to a hopeful December victory. #teamipsy -Punk

    Like

  5. Oooh, I wish I’d gotten the Verb Ghost Oil stuff!

    Like

Leave a Reply

