The End of an Era- Birchbox Unboxing…

This month will unfortunately be the last Birchbox and Ipsy battle. They came, they saw, they took turns conquering. I’ve left the US for a few months now and so I’ve unsubscribed from them, hopefully they will be resumed eventually! We’ve come full circle, guys. Ending as it all began, with Birchbox on top. You all saw how disappointing Ipsy’s last bag was, so it wasn’t hard to beat it; but let’s see what gave this Birchbox the final winning title…

img_8502

Living Proof Full Thickening Cream- I was instantly excited to find this brand in my box, I love Living Proof as much as the next girl. I wrote it off as just an extra mini version of their shampoo or conditioner that I love-until I read the label. I had to do a bit of research on this one, I’d never heard of a thickening cream; I had assumed I’d just rub it into my hair before styling and it would give me a little oomph and I turned out to be right haha. This cream claims to give your hair a natural fullness that is guaranteed to last 5X longer than usual. Excited to give this a try and it’s quite a generous sample.

Coastal Scents Blush & Bronzer Palette- This is probably the one let down of the box. I never really bought into the brief Coastal Scents hype ages ago- I tried a contour palette and it was just patchy and not finely milled at all. SO I wasn’t too excited to see the brand, and then when I opened the packaging and realized how tiny of a sample it was I was even more let down. Probably won’t use this so that’s a big thumbs down for me.

Dr Jart+ Ceramidin Cream-The highlight of the box! Am I the only one that feels like she’s been seeing this absolutely everywhere. All over instagram and always being promoted on Sephora’s app and in store. I received a sample with an order once and didn’t give it much thought but as it got bigger and bigger I just had to look into it. I had no idea what it actually was, and I then realized it was similar to Elizabeth Arden’s eight-hour-cream; maybe more skin appropriate and less intense. It claims to be a cure-all specifically for dryness or eczema and redness. I then went on to get a lot of use out of my sample and used it up- so I’m very happy to have a backup now!

R+Co ANALOG Cleansing Foam Conditioner- Yes, yes, yes. I know what you’re thinking- I’m supposed to never get excited for hair products. But naturally, as a beauty blogger I do keep up with trends and I’m always intrigued to try them. Cleansing conditioners have been around for ages and I’ve always been so so curious to give them a try. Paired with the fact that I’ve always admired this brand’s packaging from afar- this product is a yay for me!

ARDENCY INN Modster Smooth Ride Supercharged Eyeliner- This couldn’t have come at a better time. My box arrived right before Sephora’s VIB Rouge sale and this was in my list of purchases- crossed off now. I haven’t heard anything about this but it’s one of those products you stumble upon while browsing, give a little test and fall in love wondering why no one has spoken about it. Creamy and smooth doesn’t even begin to cover this bad boy. It glides on like a dream, and I’m always trying to dabble  more in pencil liners- so this was especially exciting to find in here!

Ending with a bang, Birchbox granted my wishlist quite a few ticks. I’m definitely sad to see the end of the subscriptions era- I had the highest of expectations and honestly, even on the bad months they did not disappoint. Can’t wait to get back to them!

thank-you-for-reading

Leave a Reply

