December Favourites

Why don’t I save the “I can’t believe the year is over” rambling for a later date? Besides, what’s the big 2016 beauty favourites round up for, if not that. So it’s December, and after skipping last month’s favourites I’ve managed to amass quite a selection of new loves. December favourites are often unique in the sense that you usually find yourself realizing almost every product revolves around dealing with the colder weather. I must admit, living in a country that seldom experiences seasons other than summer, summer, and a slightly cooler summer; I did not expect my first December favourites to bear any resemblance to winter. I was wrong.

img_9638

I think I’ve made my love for The Body Shop’s Spiced Apple Body Butter quite clear a couple of posts ago. What can I say, I have a weakness for spicy sweet scents this time of year. But I’ve especially been loving this bad by this month, Id never even noticed how extremely hydrating these body butters can be- perhaps it’s the apple seed oil in this one, but it has been keeping my skin supple and smooth all month long!

img_9639

Tarte has really taken over the concealer game as of late. They’ve had a few releases, and their Shape Tape earned itself holy grail status almost instantly. While I myself have loved it, this past month I’ve found myself almost only ever using this little underdog. Tarte’s Rainforest of The Sea Concealer has been my absolute favourite makeup product to apply lately! The formula of this stuff is insane, it’s seriously hydrating and lightweight. It doesn’t hurt that the finish is absolutely gorgeous, I’ve found myself casually packing this on and taking it down my cheeks because I’m just so obsessed with the hydrated and dewy finish it gives my skin! Don’t let that discourage you, despite all the trigger words I’ve just used- this is seriously long lasting and anti-creasing! It’s a miracle product and I cannot get enough of it!.

P.S. Yes. That is my concealer. Yes, it broke right after I wrote this. Yes, my heart broke along with it.

Winter seems to have ushered in a multitude of skin issues. I think i can confidently, if ever so slightly dramatically, say that this is the worst state my skin has ever been in. From enlarged pores, to constant angry breakouts- you name it. Let’s just say, I’ve been suffering. These two gems have definitely softened the blows. Now I wouldn’t go as far as to say that they’ve remedied the situation, I still suffer as I write this. But the combination of these two has definitely been soothing my skin and helping speed up the recovery time. I’ve always been a fan of the many tubes of Origins masks, but I’d never tried the Out of Trouble one. It obviously sounded like just what I need, so I figured it was worth a shot. I’ve been using this mask twice weekly, and I must say that it seriously soothes my skin and brings down the redness of some of my breakouts. It hasn’t unfortunately saved my life, but it’s made the pain more bearable!

img_9637

What would a CFML blog post be without a mention of Jaclyn Hill? Despite appearances, Jaclyn seems to be claiming that she’s had her own seriously rough patch with her skin the past couple of months, and something that helped transform her situation has been a daily use of sheet masks. So I figured; I love sheet masks, I hate my skin, why not? I haven’t strictly stuck to every single day, but I’ve been seriously hoarding sheet masks and using them way too often lately. This is more of a general favourite; I love any and all sheet masks!

P.s. I’m so sorry, I’ve had to delete and repost the past 4 days because it all got posted in the wrong order and my inner OCD-freak couldn’t stand it!

img_9683

8 Comments Add yours

  1. danniijane says:

    Great favourites. I agree December is all about winter products and hydration. Love the Body Shops Spiced Apple range😊 x

    Like

  2. Love your favourites 🙂

    Like

  3. Ritso says:

    I really want to try the tarte foundation and concealer😩😩😩 I want to try lots of their products but it’s hard to get a website that would ship to Hungary… reading this post just reminded me how bad I want to try out their products. Sorry about your concealer I feel your pain, I have been there.

    Like

  4. OMG, that Dr. Jart+ clearing sheet mask is HEAVENLY 😍 But I’ve also loved every other Dr. Jart+ sheet mask I’ve tried 😊 Thank you for this post and I hope your skin woes improve, asap! xox

    Like

    1. Honestly it’s been life changing! Haha thank you, let me know if you have any holy grails that might save me 😛 Thank you so much for reading! xx

      Like

  5. Ela Kaimo says:

    I do not like sheet masking but I think I need to get on that game if only to remedy my large pores 😦

    Like

    1. Ohh yes, I seriously think they work best for pores! Mine always feel so tightened and less visible after a good sheet mask- you should try the Too Cool For School Egg one for pores! Thank you so much for reading xx

      Like

Leave a Reply

