Boots/The Body Shop Haul

I can’t be the only one that’s gone through this. You find yourself in a rough patch when it comes to skincare, a rut if you may. You’ve tried any and all solutions you own, and you’ve even tried using fewer products. No matter which way you go, nothing is working. Personally, my constant struggles with breakouts and enlarged pores mean I’m constantly looking for the next best thing. It also means I’ve had my fair share of rough patches. In the past I’ve either relied on stripping down my skincare routine or trying out a new treatment product that promises to clear things up. Neither has ever worked for me; so this time I chose a different approach. It has been a while since I seriously perused the skincare aisles. A while since a purchase wasn’t fully inspired by a YouTuber or blogger’s suggestion. I decided to go in with a clear mind and just really read the details on every product that tempted me; whether I’d even heard of the brand or not. I’ll admit, this was primarily inspired by a recent freelance article I wrote that discussed the problems with often making purchases based on brand names and popularity solely rather than considering the ingredients and benefits. The article focused on how more affordable products are just as likely to work as well as higher end ranges; so I decided to go full-on drugstore! Let’s see what I came out with.

dsc00077

The Body Shop Oils of Life Intensely Revitalizing Bi-Phase Essence Lotion-Another article-writing inspiration. I recently had to research the 10 step Korean skincare routine, and one of the steps that I was most drawn to was the essence step. An essence is kind of a toner/serum hybrid. Its purpose is to hydrate the skin and prep it to fully absorb your serum to follow it. Ever since, I’ve been tempted to try one out. Now, while SKII would be the ideal- I had to be a bit realistic. The Body Shop’s sale couldn’t have come at a better time. I’d always been curious about the Oils of Life range anyway, so I decided to go for it. This Essence Lotion promises to replenish your skin with moisture and leave it hydrated and activated for the steps to follow. Really excited to try this fad out!

Boots Botanics All Bright Range- This was just what I was looking for. With my rough patch winding down slightly, I’m facing skin filled with scars resembling a polka dot pattern. The struggle is real. So some of the key words I was in the market for were brightening, hydrating and anything resembling renewal. I wanted to give my skin the moisture it desperately needed and also try to brighten up my skin to help with the scarring and dark spots. I never took the Botanics brand seriously, until I noticed it on Caroline Hirons Instagram and my skincare motto tends to be; if it’s good enough for the Hirons, its good enough for me.

dsc00078

So let me start with a confession; I don’t use night creams. Blasphemous, I know. I have no excuse if I’m honest. I’m well aware of how important it is to keep your skin hydrated and to regularly use a moisturizer every morning and night- but the truth is I’ve just always stopped at serums. I’m not sure if it’s because I haven’t ever been tempted by existing night creams or if a part of me worries that adding a night cream on top will stop my serum/treatments from seriously working. But lately I’ve been researching night creams and I’m determined to strictly work one into my routine. A part of me it starting to wonder if the lack of moisture is why my skin struggles so much. So, with my new open minded outlook I decided to try a brand I hadn’t heard much about but that sounded good. I read up about Botanics and it sounded natural and claims to be dermatologically tested, the ingredients sounded perfect too. So, I went for it. I’ve only used it for one night now but it’s already seriously impressed me. My skin felt insanely smooth from the second I applied it to when I woke up. I’m already addicted, and I think I’m going to go for the day cream next time!

dsc00079

To keep the moisture flowing, I decided to opt for the moisture mist too. For as long as I can remember I’ve always had a hydrating mist in the mix- but for the past few months I never ended up repurchasing my last one, and I’ve just gotten along without it. Every time I sit to write, it’s a habit of mine to keep spraying my face with moisture. So lately I’ve been really noticing its absence haha. This mist claimed to have AHAs in it too, so it promises to lightly exfoliate as well as hydrate and brighten. It sounded unreal to me, so I decided to give it a try.

dsc00080

Soap & Glory- At this point I’ll admit I started to get a bit carried away. The logic of “why not” took the reigns and I couldn’t stop it. I’d bought a few components of a skincare routine, why not the rest? I knew I wanted to buy something from Soap & Glory, I’d never really tried their skincare and after loving the Ulti-Melt from my last haul, I decided to give some other products a try. My pores can always use a good clearing and my oils a good soaking up- so the BOGO Free offer got me good. I decided to opt for the Scrub Your Nose in It exfoliator. This scrub is a clarifying exfoliant that works to clean and purify skin while lifting away pore-clogging dead skin cells. I’ve only used this once so far but I had to admit I’ve been loving it. It leaves my skin with a squeaky clean fresh feel, it’s very cooling and my skin actually feels hydrated after rather than stripped.

dsc00081

The Fab Pore 2-in1 Facial Mask & Peel is another one I’ve been loving. I’ve only used this as a 15 minute clay mask, rather than the quick 5 minute pick me up alternative it recommends. This stuff seriously clears up any and all greasiness and leaves my skin feeling super super clean and fresh like the scrub. It also leaves my skin feeling clarified and fresh- definitely one of those detox products that leaves your skin feeling refreshed.

bloguary

5 Comments Add yours

  1. I’ve never tried Soap & Glory, but I want that nose scrub for sure!!

    Like

    1. You need it, it’s amazing! Thank you so much for reading xx

      Like

  2. Ela Kaimo says:

    WHY IS THERE NO SOAP & GLORY HERE? Why?! I so badly wanna try out their products!

    Like

    1. Haha omg try ordering online, they’re amazing! x

      Like

Leave a Reply

