Signed, Sealed, Duped: Kat Von D’s Lolita

Lolita has possibly had one of the longest moments of fame in the beauty world. With Kat Von D’s release of a liquid lipstick line, this shade managed to stand out amongst the rest. It’s infamy grew and grew and even resulted in the release of a sequel to the shade ‘Lolita II,’ which was a lighter and peachier version. Lolita is possibly one of my favourite lipstick shades out there. If you haven’t seen it yourself, which I can guarantee you probably have, it can best be described as a rosy mauve. Personally, I’ve noticed that this shade has easily looked completely different on everyone I know. On myself, it’s a brown toned mauve. The obsession with this was so real that as I write this I’m having to hold myself back from applying it. I actually haven’t used this in ages, I’ve been too busy testing out millions of other liquid lipstick releases- but I always seem to go back to this. While the Kat Von D Everlasting Liquid Lipsticks aren’t excessively expensive, they do live in Sephora and some consider $20 quite steep for a lippie- so I’ve always searched for a dupe. For me, the search was more to do with finding a shade as beautiful as Lolita. By complete chance and an act of sisterly love; I have found it.

dsc00301

My sister had owned the Nyx Lip Lingerie in the shade Exotic for as long as I can remember, I personally was never tempted to purchase any of them. She almost never used it, and in the tube it always looked too terracotta-toned for my liking. Months later, while sorting through her makeup she handed it to me and asked if I wanted it because she never uses it; considering that I never say no to free makeup, I took it and decided to put it in my purse to test out the next time I head out. I decided to try it the next day, and the second I took the brush out of the tube I was obsessed. The colour was absolutely gorgeous it was the perfect chestnut rose and I knew it reminded me of something. I applied it instantly, and throughout the day I fell more and more in love with the formula. I always expected the Nyx Lip Lingerie’s to not fully dry and to be more of a creamy lip, but this dried completely matte and lasted for hours- that’s when I remembered. The way this wore reminded me completely of my Kat Von D Everlasting Liquid Lipsticks, and it hit me in that moment; THIS IS EXACTLY LIKE LOLITA.

img_0541

I’m personally completely sold on this dupe, but above is a shade comparison to help further prove my case. You can see above that the Lip Lingerie  to the right is slightly rosier, while Lolita on the left is the tiniest bit more on the brown side. But the similarity is insane. If the closeness in color wasn’t enough, I honestly believe this formula is the  most exact dupe for the Everlasting Liquid Lipsticks, and aside from the dupe quality, this formula is absolutely gorgeous. It is completely matte and so so long lasting- it’s also really comfortable on though, while my Kat Von D can sometimes feel heavy and crusty on my lips! At $7 this Nyx Lip Lingerie in Exotic is the dream dupe, and I’m gonna go ahead and give myself a pat on the back now!

fullsizerender-77

img_9683

5 Comments Add yours

  1. stella says:

    Ahh! I am so excited that you posted these 2 side by side, I literally just bought this when I did my NYX shopping!! I have not worn it yet but now I know that I am going to love it!

    Like

  2. Wowwww similar one :-). Love lingeries

    Like

    1. The formula is gorgeous! Thank you for reading xxx

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I agree with you 🙂

        Like

  3. MyStyleInsideOut says:

    I have the Lip Lingerie and in exotic and I still reach for it once in awhile.👍🏻

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

