Nars Velvet Lip Glide Review

Liquid lipsticks have been all the rage this past year. With every new release we discover new loves. The matter the better, and the longer lasting the better. Typically these two qualities are expected of a liquid lipstick, but Nars introduced their own take on the trend with their release of the Velvet Lip Glides. This product claims to be an innovative long-lasting lip color that gives a smooth semi-matte finish while still being hydrating. As with most Nars products, the color range is absolutely gorgeous and extensive. A month ago, I wrote about how I received a few travel sizes of this product in my Christmas crackers. I’d never been sure whether I wanted to purchase it for myself before, while I loved the shades and the concept; whenever I would swatch it, I wasn’t sure of the formula. I’ve noticed the mix of reviews, and decided to offer my own two cents in the hopes of helping you decide if this is the lippie for you!

fullsizerender-80

Let’s begin with the shades I have; Toy, Bound and Plato’s. While I didn’t purchase these myself, I was lucky enough to get the few shades that I would’ve actually picked up myself. Ever since these were released, I’d been lusting after Bound. It’s this gorgeous light mauve/rose. Toy and Plato’s are gorgeous dark fall colours, which I always lean towards when it comes to liquid lipsticks. As you can see above, Toy is more on a purple side while Plato’s is a burnt red.

When buying a liquid lipstick, I’m expecting it to be matte. The extent to which it should be matte can be flexible, but I do want it to dry down at least a little. This is where the problem began for me with the Nars Velvet Lip Glides.While the product has always been clear on it’s status of a hybrid, and the fact that it is meant to be super hydrating and a cross between a gloss and a matte- this was nowhere near matte. I would 100% call this a lip gloss. This does not dry down whatsoever. Yes, when it fades it does leave behind a stain but that happens with many lip glosses. It is by no means a “semi-matte,” it is a very hydrating and very pigmented lip gloss. This was never clarified in the reviews I read, it was always referred to as a hydrating semi-matte. So,  in case you were wondering, let’s just clear that up right now.

fullsizerender-78

While at first I was angry and felt like I had been tricked, I got past it eventually and can now appreciate it for what it is. I’ve been reaching for these daily. They give your lips the most gorgeous natural sheen. They aren’t sticky like most glosses, in face they’re very comfortable and lightweight on the lips while still giving insane pigmentation. This is a liquid lipstick, ,just not a matte one. I also do feel that my lips are extra hydrated after using this, which is probably due to the white tea extract infused in this for hydration. So my final verdict is that I have been loving these and they’ve become my go to lip products, especially Bound which gives me a your-lips-but-better look. However, I would just like to warn you to expect a pigmented gloss and zero drying down into anything even resembling matte!

bloguary

6 Comments Add yours

  1. katrinasade says:

    This actually seems pretty interesting. I’m in general a matte girl, I’ve been trying to branch out lately. Do you know if Nars is a cruelty-free brand?

    Like

    1. Yeah they’re definitely a perfect way to branch out! Yes actually they are cruelty-free 🙂 thank you for reading btw xx

      Like

    2. This is your perfect branching out product honestly! Yes it is actually a cruelty-free brand 🙂 thank you for reading xx

      Liked by 1 person

      1. katrinasade says:

        SWEET! I’ll have to look into it.

        Like

  2. Ela Kaimo says:

    I love mattes but I’ve been wanting to try glosses as well. If there were a Nars counter nearby, I’d surely pick this up.

    Like

    1. It’s gorgeous- it’s actually kind of comparable to Nyx’s Lustre lips, I might actually compare them in a post soon. So if you have a nyx nearby give it a try! Thank you for reading xx

      Like

Leave a Reply

