The Truth Behind A Flatlay: Everyday Makeup Routine

I’m a huge fan of flat lays. If you’ve seen my instagram you’ll know this, I tend to post daily flat lays of the makeup I use. But the truth is there’s a lot of pressure on Instagram. Depending on the aesthetic you’re going for, there are silent rules. Accounts I tend to love are usually simple, clean and classy with a clear white background always. This gets a bit problematic considering my makeup routine. The truth is there are way too many steps and products that go into creating the simplest of looks, I’m a huge fan of mixing and layering so I end up using half of my makeup collection daily. No one wants to see a flat lay packed with a hundred products, right? So, I often keep things simple and only include the staples and main products of a look. Well, not today. I decided a while ago that I wanted to share my everyday makeup routine because usually I switch things up a lot, but the past couple of weeks I’ve essentially used the same thing every day. I knew when I decided to stick to blogging and avoid videos or photos of myself that I had to forsake tutorials. But the truth is, more often than not we’re tricked by lighting and camera lenses that at the end of the way we really watch tutorials to listen to the technique and understand how to use the products; I can write that, right? Well, that’s what I’m going to do today anyway. This is less of a tutorial and more just what I do on a daily basis. I’ll try to keep things as brief as possible, as opposed to the actual routine!

All About My Base

fullsizerender-93

The amount of makeup I like to pack on tends to vary day to day, but the one thing that stays consistent is my base. Whether it’s a no makeup day or a dramatic look, I tend to do the same base and just alternate products. You all know my issues with my skin so the truth is I’m too insecure usually to opt for a simple tinted moisturizer. One day hopefully. So to begin the entire process I like to pack on a layer of Bite’s Agave Lip Mask to let that seep in throughout the whole process. I begin by priming my skin, mixing my Too Faced HangoveRx Primer and my This Works In Transit Camera Closeup , I do this because I want a hydrated and supple base from my Too Faced primer, but then I also want smoothness and longevity which I get with This Works. I let that settle in for a second while I pat in my Wet n Wild Eyeshadow Primer, you all know my obsession with this as I made clear in one of my first blog posts. Swear by this stuff, especially if you have oily eyelids this will not let anything budge or settle in your crease.

While that sets, I move back to my face. You’ll notice I move back and forth a lot, but it works for me and honestly it feels good to finally talk about this because I never really share my actual process with anyone haha. This is a recent addition, but I’ve been mixing the peach and green colours in this Nyx Colour Correcting Concealer Palette and applying that to my scarring, mostly on my chin and some spots on my cheeks. Then I go back to my lids and brush some Makeup Forever HD Translucent Powder onto them to set the primer in place and give my lids a smooth, flawless base for shadow (this makes a world of a difference, I swear by this step!). Finally, I’m going to take my Lóreal Pro Glow Foundation which I’ve been obsessed with lately. It gives me full coverage while still looking super natural on the skin and not cakey, which is usually my problem with L’oreal foundations. I really take my time patting this in with my Black Pro Beauty Blender. Even though this formula is very dewy, it does not feel or look greasy and it is very long wearing- especially when paired with my primers. Then, we’re done with the base for now!

Eyes, Eyes, Eyes!

fullsizerender-94

Now I like to leave my skin for a while and give my foundation some time to settle before I pack anything else on and this seems to work best for me, if I do concealer or powder right away I tend to look cakey- so maybe this is a trick you could try out! For the eyes on a more no makeup makeup day I would just stop there with my smooth base, and just add some mascara and tightline but lately I’ve been loving this look. I’ve always hated gold eyeshadow, I never use it and I hated when I’d find it in a palette. But lately, I’ve been all about a bold gold lid and I feel like it just looks so soft and feminine and goes gorgeously with a hydrated pink lip! To begin, I take the bone coloured Baby Face from my MUG palette all over the lid, and then apply some of Creme Brulee to the crease to act as a transition colour. Then, it’s all about the KyShadow Burgundy Palette .

I pack Penny onto my Zoeva 228 Crease Brush to give my crease some serious orange warmth, and then blend Beach into my crease with my Sigma E25 and I just go back and forth with those two steps, blending and blending to make sure it’s seamless and avoiding my actual lid. When that’s done, I take the gorgeous warm gold LA and pack it onto my lid, depending on how dramatic I want it I’ll sometimes spray the brush with fix + to give it a really foiled look. Then finally, I’ll take a bit of Almond on my Zoeva 235 and lightly tap this onto my outer corner of the lid to give my eyes some depth and definition. I’ll also take a bit of Almond onto my Zoeva 322 and lightly line my lash line really closely just to give my lashes a fuller look. I love this step because it’s been allowing me to set aside my daily cat flick for a while and gives me more of a smokey look. To finish up I’ll take a bit of LA and brush this onto my lower lash line, which has always been new for me; I’d never ever put a shimmery shade on my lash line, but I’ve been loving it!

Aaaaaaand Back To The Base…

fullsizerender-92

For now, I’ll leave my eyes and move back to my skin. I start by applying my concealer- I love doing this at this step because I rest my fingers around my under-eyes a lot during the process and I have some fall out so usually the concealer would be a mess if I did it from the beginning. I just apply the tiniest tap of Too Faced’s Born This Way Concealer and then a tinier dot of Tarte’s Shape Tape because it’s very brightening. I place these slightly under my under-eyes and blend it up. This is where it gets strange, my aim with concealer isn’t to completely conceal my under-eyes. I honestly think my eyes look beady and tiny if my under-eyes are completely concealed so I like my actual skin to shine through and I focus the concealer on highlighting the area underneath (strange I know). I tap it all the way up to my temples too to lift my eyes. The second that’s done, I like to set it instantly. I go in with my Black Pro Beauty Blender that’s designated for powders and I pat in a light layer of my RCMA No Color Powder as if I were baking and then I brush it away instantly. I haven’t been too happy with this powder lately, but I work with it for now. I take the other end of my beauty blender and tap in a light layer of Tarte’s Amazonian Clay Airbrush Foundation to set the rest of my face- I know that sounds really dramatic but it’s actually very lightweight and smooths my imperfections.

Back to the eyes one last time. I curl my lashes, and then I go in with my Benefit They’re Real Tinted Lash Primer which I’ve used every single day for the past year! Then I pack on my Fairydrops Scandal Queen Mascara in Waterproof Black which I’ve been loving lately, it really lengthens my lashes while giving them just the right amount of volume and definition. Finally, the last touches. First I go in with Chisel from my Tarteist Pro Glow To Go Palette and lightly, lightly blend this into the contours of my face with my Real Techniques Sculpting Brush-this stuff is so dramatically pigmented so use the tiniest bit! Then I bronze up my face with my Too Faced Soul Mates Blush in Carrie & Big (not gonna lie, I did buy this for the name only), I bought this ages ago and I’ve only recently been using it. I love how smooth and buttery it looks on and the colour is just the perfect bronze for lighter skin tones- I pack this on with my Morphe Angled Blush Brush.Then, recently I’ve actually stopped using my trusty Champagne Pop and I’ve been loving my old holy grail The Balm’s Mary Lou-Manizer and I pack pack pack this on with my Sigma F35 onto the tops of my cheeks and the tip of my nose and my cupids bow. Then, I go in with my Real Techniques Blush Brush and pack on my Tarte’s Amazonian Clay 12 Hour Blush in Blissful, thanks to Desi Perkins I’ve been loving applying blush last to just really blend everything together and make my highlight look smoother and avoid harsh lines.

FINALLY, we’re at the end. That was definitely a lot longer than I thought it would be. I like to give my skin a little spritz of my Mario Badescu Rose Water Spray to set everything in place, I prefer my Fix + but I need to get around to repurchasing it! I usually change my lips a million times while I’m out and about, but with this eye look I love how my Urban Decay Naked Lip Gloss in Sesso looks, it’s super feminine and plumps my lips up- I’m just obsessed! So that’s all it takes. It sounds so dramatic and long but honestly it looks like the simplest look at the end of the day, I just take so many steps to try to perfect anything. Let me know if you think I’m completely insane or if you understand the struggle haha..

bloguary

 

15 Comments Add yours

  1. I bought the Carrie and Big compact for the name only too! I couldn’t pass it up! It is super pretty so it wasn’t too bad of a purchase! Nice post!

    Like

    1. Haha exactly!! The bronzer is so so buttery. Thank you for reading xoxo

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Just Jo Beauty says:

    Your flat lays are stunning!!

    Like

    1. Aww thank you so much!! It means so much haha. Thank you for reading xoxo

      Liked by 1 person

  3. great post ! love flat lays but your right it’s not that simple lol

    Like

    1. Thank you for reading!! xoxo

      Liked by 1 person

  4. This is exactly me when I see peoples fotd with 5 products and I’m like uh, I used a good 20 different things. ps why aren’t you happy with the rcma powder lately? I’m conflicted if I want to get it or not

    Like

    1. Haha omg so glad someone gets the struggle! So, it definitely works better than any others, but my problem is I loved it so much in the past because it wouldnt give my flash back or overly brighten- but lately it’s been making my undereyes kind of stark and stand out from the rest of my face, and not in a nice highlighted way, in a harsh lines way! I’ve been working with it and trying to use it more lightly or with different concealers so I’ll keep you posted 🙂 thank you for reading xoxo

      Liked by 1 person

  5. Awesome post! Totally agree, I cull my FOTD products for my insty flat lays. Love that you’re keeping it real xx

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Haha aw thank you, and thank you for reading! xoxo

      Like

  6. diiblogs says:

    It’s true about instagram. Your flatlays are beautiful tho!

    Like

    1. Thank you so so much xoxo

      Liked by 1 person

  7. Michelle says:

    Great post! I’m not a fan of the RCMA powder. I find it makes my large pores look huge! It’s the only powder I have found that does it. Which is weird!!
    Michelle xx

    Like

Leave a Reply

