Lips For Less… ( Frugal Feb )

The drugstore/high-street have been all about the lips for years now. Lip products are definitely an area where they’ve excelled, there have been amazing affordable lip products on the market for as long as I can remember. However, I do think they deserve some extra recognition for the past couple of years. They’ve stayed on top of every single trend so well. When mauves were in, they brought us mauves. When liquid lipsticks were big, they gave it to us good. I personally would be more than happy to have an entire lippie collection that consists only of affordable products; I honestly think it’s one of those areas like foundation where they’re equal or sometimes better than luxury brands. I just firmly believe in affordable lip products (the passion, though). I figured, Frugal Feb is a better time than any to cover what affordable lippies I consider favourites of all time- and this was virtually impossible. I went in wanting to narrow it down to 5 and I clearly struggled along the way. These are just the products that are practically holy grails for me- if I were to discuss every product I love we’d be here all day!

Liners 

drugstore-linersIt’s actually unreal how well-made the Rimmel Exaggerate Full Colour Lip Liner‘s are. I picked up one of these ages ago when everyone was talking about the shade East End Snob and how comparable to Charlotte Tilbury’s Pillow Talk- which I can confirm by the way, total dupe! Two of the liners photographed above are actually East End Snob, aside from the two back ups I have stored away! I actually prefer this shade a lot more to Pillow Talk; I feel like Pillow Talk kind of washes me out and is maybe too pale, but the undertones to East End Snob just look beautiful with any look, and I hear they’re perfect for over-lining too! After being so obsessed with it I decided it was time to give another shade a try- so I picked up Enchantment which looked like a darker East End Snob haha, it’s a lot pinker and definitely a berry kind of tone. Enchantment applies so beautifully, it’s actually more of a your-lips-but-better kind of look when I apply it all over and tap it in. Perhaps I should stop rambling about these gorgeous colours and focus on the formula. These lip liners glide onto your lips so smoothly, they’re definitely the perfect amount of creaminess which often means less longevity for me- but these dry on my lips instantly and cling on for dear life! I can easily apply one of these and know it’ll be there all day long. I love the formula so much that I usually wear them alone all over my lips rather than under a lip product. These are life changing! P.s. I love love love that they’re wind up liners instead of sharpening ones- so much more convenient!

Matte

liquid-lipsticks

I’ve spoken about both of these staples before, they’ve both been some of my favourite liquid lipstick releases ever. The pigment and longevity on these is so comparable to higher end ones, but I actually prefer them because I find them both to be so much more comfortable to wear. Unfortunately the only downfall with these for me is that these are the only shades I like in both ranges- they definitely offer a wide selection of shades but they’re just not for me, so I have to stick to these! I absolutely hate that because these are my favourite liquid lipstick formulas. TheL.A Girl Flat Finish Pigment Gloss is definitely the most long lasting liquid lipstick out there, this stuff will not move or budge and it’s actually a hassle to remove! I have it in Frisky which is the perfect Hollywood red for me, it’s just the right amount of coolness and warmness and is just an absolute classic! I’ve mentioned before that the NYX Lip Lingerie’s are absolute dupes for the Kat Von D Everlasting Liquid Lipsticks, and this shade in Exotic is especially a dupe for the KVD Lolita. Again, beautiful formula that dries completely matte and lasts for ages while not feeling drying on the lips- this one is definitely more hydrating than the L.A. Girl!

Glossy 

glossy-lipsLately I’ve actually been passing on the matte look, and I’ve really been loving a glossy hydrated-looking lip. There’s something about it that just lifts an entire makeup look and just leaves me looking light and youthful. Affordable or not; these are the two I’ve been loving and going for daily. The Soap & Glory Sexy Motherpucker Gloss in Punch Bowl is the most gorgeous pink I’ve ever seen, I love this because it looks super natural on. It’s just the right amount of pigment; it looks as though my lips are naturally slightly pink and I’ve applied a clear gloss to the top of it- I’ve been obsessed with that look! The NYX Lip Lustre is definitely a lot more pigmented, it’s kind of a liquid lipstick that just stays wet! This is identical to the formula of Kylie’s lip glosses- let’s leave it at that. It gives that perfectly hydrated and glossy lip I’m always after, and it hydrated my lips like no other! If that weren’t enough, I’m obsessed with this lip for the color alone! It is the perfect natural your-lips-but-better pink that I’m always searching for! It’s seriously worrying how obsessed with this product I am!

bloguary

10 Comments Add yours

  1. I love this Frugal Feb series! The NYX Lip Lingerie lipsticks are my absolute favourite too! 🙂

    Like

    1. Aww thank you I’m so glad you’re enjoying it!! SO sad it’s over haha, gonna have to bring it back sometime soon! Aah isn’t it just the absolute best! Thank you for reading xoxo

      Liked by 1 person

  2. thecakefaces says:

    Love this post! I need to get a few more of these products after reading this! X

    Like

    1. Haha yess you need them all!! Thank you for reading xoxo

      Like

  3. Lingerie is my go to matte lippie 🖐🏻🙌🏻👌🏻

    Like

    1. Such a gorgeous shade!! Thank you for reading xoxo

      Liked by 1 person

      1. It really is😍

        Like

  4. retrocasual says:

    The NYX suede (cherry skies and kitten heels) and lip lingerie (exotic) are my favourites. I’ve been wanting the KVD lolita but now that you’ve told me exotic is similar I’m not going to bother. It’s my ultimate nude colour and I never get excited about nude lip shades so that’s brilliant

    Like

Leave a Reply

