Save or Splurge: Spot Treatments ( Frugal Feb )

We’ve all been there, you wake up one morning with a line chart and self-diagnose yourself with severe acne. The panic sets in, you’re picking at it with anything you can. You’re triple-masking to try to fix things. You’re layering on the treatments and serums and lotions. We have all been there. I’m not going to sit here and harp on to you about how you should leave it alone and avoid touching or piling on products- it’s true, but I still won’t be that person. It’s unavoidable. Once a pimple pops up, you will do anything in your power to send it back into the depths of hell. I personally try my hardest not to pick at it, I often do though if I’m honest. However, I do avoid using too many products- if anything, I strip down my routine to more basic and simple products and hope they’ll help it heal naturally in time. The only extra step I take is applying a spot treatment every morning and night. I’ve been at this for years now, I’ve tried any and every one I could and I’m constantly searching for the best. From DIY treatments to $60 ones- nothing ever really seems to work. Yet, I continue to pack it on in blind hope.Through these trials and tribulations, I’ve hit up two of the most spoken about treatments- on either end of the price spectrum. So I thought I’d share my verdict, and let you know if this is somewhere you should save or splurge…

mario-badescu-drying-lotion

This past year I’ve been especially testing out new spot treatments; and naturally I was bound to come across the Mario Badescu Drying Lotion. You’ve all seen it. That little glass bottle with a strange separated concoction inside has been everywhere for a couple of years now. It’s earned itself the title of the holy grail pimple treatment of all time, and it’s grown to have its own little cult following. From beauty influencers to YouTubers to Kylie Jenner -everyone seems to love this! So I had to try it out. If you’ve been closely following my blog, you’ll already know the verdict on this entire post. I wrote recently about how terrible my experiences with the Drying Lotion were. Basically, it did nothing. My pimple was noticeably the exact same every single time I’d use this,  it would never dry out or tone down and it definitely wouldn’t  feel soothed at all. I decided to be persistent and I continued to use it for a couple of weeks since it wasn’t necessarily doing any harm; but there was no change. In fact, the only noticeable change was the insane dryness I’d find on every patch I’d apply this. Anywhere I had applied it would be left with crusty peeling dry skin surrounding the pimple; the pimple that was still there by the way.

 

Following in the footsteps of my favourite beauty influencers of all time (Desi Perkins and Katy), I decided to move on and try their recent obsession; Tea Tree Oil. I remembered trying The Body Shop’s Tea Tree Oil way back in high school, I hardly knew what I was doing with myself back then to be aware of whether it was actually working or not; so I decided to repurchase this and test it out again. While my option isn’t too affordable, this is actually a saving product because you can find a million versions of 100% Tea Tree Oil on Amazon or at a local natural products store- it’s super cheap and easy to get your hands on, I just decided to opt for this one. This has changed my life. I’ll admit, I’ve been trying it out for almost a month now and it’s only recently that I’ve fallen in love. The truth is I’ve been suffering and getting continuous breakouts, so it was impossible for me to love this when I’d wake up with a new pimple everyday and hardly had time to focus on how it was healing my pimple from the day before!

featured-image-save-or-splurge

Recently, I completely switched up my skincare routine and it’s been clearing my skin up better than anything ever has (let me know if you want me to write about the products that have been helping me.) I still do have pimples that pop up, and recently this has been completely transforming them. The results with this are so quick, the pimple is always drastically reduced in size overnight if not completely gone. But what I love most about this is how soothing and hydrating it is- especially after trying the Drying Lotion. This keeps the skin around my pimple moisturized and doesn’t do any drying out. I’ve always personally been anti-drying out pimples, I’m just skeptical about it. So to finally found a product that helps treat them in a different way has been amazing- especially since it works better! This is absolutely an area where you should SAVE! Not only can you find Tea Tree Oil at a fraction of the price, but this genuinely works 50 times better. Instead of dropping extra money to dry out your pimples, try this natural method and I can guarantee you’ll love the results.

bloguary

8 Comments Add yours

  1. I must admit I’m not a fan of the smell of Tea Tree oil, but I agree, it does work!

    Like

    1. You get used to it eventually though, right haha. Thank you for reading xoxo

      Like

      1. Haha well I still don’t really like it that much, but the benefits are worth it when the spots go!

        Like

  2. Healthy_Glow says:

    I’d like to hear about your recent skincare regime!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Aww thank you for reading through enough to see that haha! I’ll definitely be writing it ASAP 🙂 thank you xoxo

      Liked by 1 person

  3. thecakefaces says:

    Great post! I’ve been wondering if that drying lotion was worth all the hype! Would love to hear about your skincare routine 🙂 x

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Aww thank you for reading through enough to have read my question haha- I’ll definitely be posting it soon!! Thank you xxx

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

