Shop My Stash: Success….Series?

Can you tell I’m having a moment here? I’ve hardly just started my PAWs series and I’m already onto another giving-makeup-a-second-chance kick. I’ll never forget watching my first Shop My Stash YouTube video years ago and thinking how genius that is and swearing I wanted to sit dedicate some time to doing it- I’ll also never forget that I thought I can’t wait to write or film myself talking about my own shop my stash one day ( aw, reflective  moments). As with my eyeshadow palettes, sticking to the same staple products is a struggle I face with every category. Every product has had it’s moment- some shorter than others. But mostly, I stick to the same staple products and fail to switch things up daily. So I’ve been trying to shop my stash as often as possible and test out a product and see if I still love it or if my feelings have changed and I’m wondering how I ever even got away with wearing it! I love rediscovery within my makeup collection and I feel like lately I’ve actually been pretty committed to rediscovering a new product every week or bi-weekly. So I thought it’s about time I wrote about it. Let’s see what oldie I’ve been using and whether it’s been a success or a fail (title kind of gives it away, don’t you think?)

Now, this one is seriously a walk down memory lane. You’ve all seen it, I’m sure you all remember the hype around it. The Makeup Forever HD Foundation had a hype surrounding it equivalent to that of MAC’s Studio Fix. Everyone was loving it and everyone swore by it. Teenage Noha had never really bought anything high-end around the time, I’d spent months living off of samples of the foundation that I’d ask for every time I went into a Sephora. I had loved it and I genuinely believed it fixed all my problems- then again, all I had to compare it to were a few Garnier and Maybelline BB Creams. I had ventured into the world of foundations a little earlier when I picked up a Bourjois Flower Perfection foundation (don’t even ask) and I was so fascinated by how one cream could even out my skin tone and cover up all my problems. It was magic, it was art. Ah, to be young again. I decided it was time to save up and treat myself. I can’t even explain the happiness that came with buying it. But something strange happened, about a month in I found myself tossing it aside for all the other foundations I was now investing in. With a foundation collection growing more and more everyday- this one has definitely fallen behind, until a couple of weeks ago…

makeupforever HD

One day I decided I really wanted to give this a round 2- I had literally worshiped it after all. My skin has been clearing up so I figured this is the perfect time to give old products a second try. I’m in love. I’ve been using this almost every day since I tried it out. This foundation applies so beautifully, I forgot how flawless it leaves your skin. I love the formula because it is probably the only foundation I own that genuinely gives you second skin-looking full coverage. Anything that covers up my problems perfectly always seems to look cakey or visible on the skin- but this just melts into my skin so beautifully.

As if the amazing formula weren’t enough, there’s actually a very unusual factor that made me fall in love with this again. I never paid much attention to the shades of foundation- I’d always found my match in every one I bought and it was fine. But I didn’t realize how trans-formative a beautiful shade could be. This foundation in the shade N120 matched my skin perfectly and then some. I love a yellow undertone and this definitely has one, there’s something about the shade that is just so flattering to the rest of the neutral tones of my makeup. It really clarifies and brightens my skin while being an exact colour match- crazy! This has just done so much and more for my skin that I can’t believe I’d left it behind for so long and thought I’d found something better. Sometimes old really is gold…

QUESTION FOR YOU LOVELIES: As you can tell by the title, I’m considering making this a weekly series where I test out an old product of mine and give you a full review on whether it was a success or a fail. Let me know if that’s something you’d like to read 🙂

bloguary

9 Comments Add yours

  1. I love the idea of this series. Just started your PAW project as well…started with the In Bloom palette this week.

    Like

    1. Oooh perfect!! You should write about it too or let me know your thoughts 🙂 thank you so much for reading xoxo

      Like

  2. Great idea! I’ll be catching up each week 🙂

    Like

    1. Yaay glad you like it!! I’ll definitely try to keep things interesting haha – thank you for reading!! xoxo

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Aisha says:

    Yes please!

    Like

  4. stella says:

    Oooh – I love this!! Thanks for sharing.

    Like

  5. Love the idea of a series!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

