Throwback Thursday: Full Face of Old Hypes (TMMB Week) 

on

I’ve been so excited all week to write this post. As I was planning the posts for the They Made Me Buy It series, an idea came to me; what if one day I just did my entire makeup with products that were hyped up ages ago! I love having fun with makeup, and ideas like this make things exciting. Think of it as a full face of first impressions…of products I loved way back when.  I made sure to choose all products that I haven’t used in ages and that have been purchases inspired by YouTube and Instagram. Let’s see if these products are still worth the hype, or if they’re old news…

It’s quite surprising that I haven’t used the Farsali Rose Gold Elixir in months now. Especially considering the fact that I couldn’t live without it for a while there. I think I stopped using this when I realized my skin was getting oily really quickly so I was switching products in and out, and this product never made it back. If I’m honest, I didn’t love it. I want to continue to give it a try this week but I felt like it was too oily on my skin and never really set..it just got worse throughout the day! This could be because of the combination of other products so we’ll see. 

Next, one of the most hyped foundations in the game; Giorgio Armani’s Luminous Silk. This was one of my first high end foundation purchases and I was obsessed. I couldn’t stop wearing it. It gave my skin such a flawless finish. But I figured that I didn’t have much to compare it to, so I thought I might hate it this time around… No! I absolutely loved this. Definitely going to be using this more often, it gives my skin such a blurred out and smooth finish. It isn’t too dewy on me and I just love how natural it looks on while giving insane coverage. 

I hauled the Maybelline Instant Age Rewind at the beginning of this week, but I actually tracked down my last tube and decided to give it a try. This was also still a win! I love the color of the shade Neutralizer, it’s so brightening and yellow toned. It blended beautifully. One thing I will say is I think it’s too high coverage for me, that’s not the look I go for anymore. By the way, I set this with my Mac Prep + Prime which is an old favourite of mine but not really hyped, so I left that out (worked beautifully though!) 

Next as you all know I move on to my eyes. Too Faced’s Chocolate Bar ,another one of the most overhyped products in the game. I genuinely have not used this in over a year, it’s crazy. I still hold onto it because it has such a gorgeous colour range and I know I’ll turn to it one day. This did not disappoint, I forgot how beautiful the formula of Too Faced Shadows was, so creamy and buttery. I remembered my love for the shade Milk Chocolate and Marzipan; they’re so gorgeous and honestly nothing compares. I’m just sad to find that I hit pan on Milk Chocolate, might end up repurchasing the palette. It truly is worth it! 


For lashes I went for my old holy grail the Tarte Lights, Camera, Lashes. Wow wow wow I forgot how gorgeous this was. This gives my lashes such insane separation and volume. It genuinely looks like I have individual lashes on. Mine is pretty dried out and I’ve just decided I’m definitely repurchasing. So gorgeous! 


Lastly, but seriously not least came the powders. My beloved Hourglass Ambient Lighting Palette was my most prized possession for years, and it’s so sad that I haven’t used it in ages. I used to use this for everything; powder, bronzer and highlight. I used it as a bronzer and highlight today and while the bronzer was slightly orange on me, the highlight was flawless. It definitely wasn’t an intense highlight, it was very natural and barely detectable but it just looked so flattering. 


I set my face with Tarte’s Amazonian Clay Full Coverage Airbrush Foundation, it took me so long to buy this hyped up product and when I did I never ended up using it. I tried it out today and so far I am in love. It completely blurred out my pores and any imperfections. The colour was a little too yellow for me, but I’m in awe of the formula itself. Finally the Tarte Amazonian Clay 12 Hour Blush in Blissful was another throwback classic that has not aged at all. This colour is the most gorgeous frolicking-in-the-snow natural flush kind of colour, and I’m always shocked by how long these actually last on my face! 

Let me know what old overhyped products you still love and use! 

13 Comments Add yours

  1. I just discovered Tarte’s mascara and I’m in love. I really enjoyed reading this- funny how some things that might have been a holy grail a year ago (or less) get put on the back burner for the next big thing. Great job!

    Like

    1. Noha ♡ says:

      Right? Most of my makeup ends up on the back burner, I just need to stop buying haha. Thank you for reading 🙂 x

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Elle says:

    I love the too faced chocolate bar palette it’s one of my favs!! Might have to go and buy the Luminous silk foundation now too, loved this post!xx

    Like

    1. Noha ♡ says:

      Thank you Elle! 🙂 x

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Azra says:

    I would love to see final result. Even like this was fun to read. xx

    https://simpleserenity.wordpress.com

    Like

  4. imaginejulie says:

    What a great post! If you rediscover more old favourites i would love to read more about them.

    Like

    1. Noha ♡ says:

      Thank youu so much for reading, and I’ll be sure to do so 🙂 x

      Like

  5. I’m all about the Maybelline concealer! Still one of my favorites. And that Hourglass Ambient Palette is one of the first highlighters I ever purchased!

    Like

    1. Noha ♡ says:

      Aww haha it’s the first high end powder I ever bought! Thank you so much for reading Danielle x

      Liked by 1 person

  6. laglammere says:

    Good review on the Farsali! Its been on my wish list for a while, but I have been second guessing it and really wanting to try the unicorn essence have you tried it yet? If so, what do you think?

    Like

    1. Noha ♡ says:

      Oh my god don’t even get me started on that, I want to try it so so badly! I’m waiting for the Sephora VIB Rouge sale to get my hands on it haha x

      Liked by 1 person

      1. laglammere says:

        Im waiting for it to come back in stock!!! I just wanna cry unicorn tears!

        Like

Leave a Reply

