Liquid Gold: Are These Liquid Lipsticks Worth The Hype? (TMMB Week)

on

I’m a lipstick hoarder. I can’t seem to stop buying them. The most satisfying purchase I can ever make is buying a range of colours of the same lipstick; so aesthetically pleasing! I struggle to figure out what lipstick releases to trust or not; especially with liquid lipsticks. That’s why it’s definitely an area where I mostly take recommendations from YouTubers and Instagram. I watch swatch videos religiously! In today’s post, I wanted to cover some liquid lipsticks that have been so hyped and raved about and as always offer my two cents! So, here are the liquid lipsticks I consider to be most overhyped, let’s see how they fared with me…


I’ve been reaching for the NARS Velvet Lip Glide. They give your lips the most gorgeous natural sheen. They aren’t sticky like most glosses, in face they’re very comfortable and lightweight on the lips while still giving insane pigmentation. This is a liquid lipstick, ,just not a matte one. I also do feel that my lips are extra hydrated after using this, which is probably due to the white tea extract infused in this for hydration. So my final verdict is that I have been loving these and they’ve become my go to lip products, especially Bound which gives me a your-lips-but-better look. However, I would just like to warn you to expect a pigmented gloss and zero drying down into anything even resembling matte!

This is the best liquid lipstick I have ever tried. Bold statement, I know; but I can back it up. I knew I loved this the second I tried the dark bold fall shade.  They usually applies too patchy. With one swipe of this across my lips I was good to go. It was perfectly even and instantly bold and dramatic. The pigmentation was unreal. The longevity was easily the best I’ve ever experienced. This stuff would not budge for hours and many a hot dog.Considering the intensity of the pigmentation ad how dramatically long-lasting it was; I knew I needed this in every bold colour I regularly use. Red was a must, and the fuschia pink shade was too gorgeous to pass up. I can’t even begin to explain how much use I have gotten out of them. They’re easily the most reliable lip products I own. I know that I can trust them to work perfectly every single time and to earn me about a hundred compliments. The range has the widest variety of shades I’ve seen yet. Everything from classic nudes, a classic red to a bright purple and a deep blue. If that weren’t enough, the packaging just completely won me over. The sleek glass packaging that gets wide at the bottom is just so luxurious and heavy- it’s just everything I look for in packaging. The formula is so easy to apply and just seamless. I’ve never had a problem with bleeding or fading in the center. This will last through eating and stay absolutely flawless. I think this is one of the first products that I’ve owned in a range of shades- that’s how obsessed I am!

Lolita has possibly had one of the longest moments of fame in the beauty world. With Kat Von D’s release of a liquid lipstick line, this shade managed to stand out amongst the rest. It’s infamy grew and grew and even resulted in the release of a sequel to the shade ‘Lolita II,’ which was a lighter and peachier version. Lolita is possibly one of my favourite lipstick shades out there. If you haven’t seen it yourself, which I can guarantee you probably have, it can best be described as a rosy mauve. Personally, I’ve noticed that this shade has easily looked completely different on everyone I know. On myself, it’s a brown toned mauve. The obsession with this was so real that as I write this I’m having to hold myself back from applying it. I actually haven’t used this in ages, I’ve been too busy testing out millions of other liquid lipstick releases- but I always seem to go back to this. The one thing I will say, is that despite how gorgeous the colour is- this range of liquid lipsticks is so uncomfortable. This is easily the driest liquid lipstick formula I have ever tried. The longer time passes the more I decide to let go of how pretty Lolita is. This one is definitely not worth the hype for me! 

This formula earns itself the spot as number one in terms of comfort. The lightweight formula dries matte instantly leaving the lips with an almost powdery finish. Now, stay with me, I know that doesn’t sound too appealing but trust me it is. The powdery feel is what makes it so comfortable, it’s light and completely matte formula is what makes it feel so weightless on the lips. Aside from the insanely comfortable formula, the Lime Crime line offers some of the most versatile shade range. From blacks and blues to the perfect red lip

This has definitely been the year of Huda Beauty cosmetics. From her liquid lipsticks to her palette, each and every one of her products have been so hyped up. This one, I can say is definitely worth the hype. These liquid lipsticks are not only such gorgeous shades, but they’re easily the most comfortable to wear! They dry down completely matte but somehow feel extremely hydrating. You literally can’t even feel them on! I’m so obsessed with Trophy Wife- the perfect mauve pink. 

Kylie Lip Kits- best for last? Not quite but this one is definitely holy grail. We were all guilty of being skeptical when this Jenner announced the release, if the Kardashian’s previous ventures into beauty were anything to go by, it wasn’t pretty. Naturally, as well know I had to buy into the hype anyway. I wasn’t expecting much but even if I were I’m sure this would’ve exceeded it. The kit comes with a lip liner which, while not amazing, was appreciated. For a more detailed rant you can refer to the post I dedicated to this gem, but to keep it brief here; this stuff has some serious industrial strength and leaves behind a beautiful stain. 

What liquid lipsticks have you been loving? If I’m honest I’m kind of over the liquid lipstick phase, I’m always rocking a glossy lip lately 🙂 

23 Comments Add yours

  1. wow, I’m in love with KatvonD liquid lipstick. I’m buying Lolita 2 😛

    Liked by 1 person

  2. kathylcsw says:

    I love the Too faced liquid lipstick. I have it in Lady Balls. I hoard lipstick too and am getting g ready to do a major declutter.

    Like

    1. Noha ♡ says:

      Yesss, Lady Balls is the red photographed, it’s such a perfect red! Thank you for reading xx

      Like

  3. Nicole says:

    I love the lime crime ones! I’m also itching to try the Huda Beauty ones, but I have so many and don’t think I really need to add any to it.

    Like

    1. Noha ♡ says:

      Come on now, I can always justify more makeup haha it’s a problem. The formula is just so comfortable, I love them! Thank you for reading x

      Like

      1. Nicole says:

        Usually I can too but Ulta just had the 21 days of beauty and I justified way too much makeup, haha, but I’m sure I’ll pick some up at some point.

        Like

  4. Elle says:

    I so need to try the Too faced liquid lips and the huda beauty!!xx

    Like

    1. Noha ♡ says:

      You doo, such amazing formulas x

      Like

  5. Love this post!! I love the too faced the ones. And I LOVE the soft powdery finish from lime crime. What are your favorite too faced and Kyle shades?

    Like

    1. Noha ♡ says:

      For Too Faced I love love Lady Balls, it’s the perfect red. I also like Bend & Snap and Drop Dead Red! For kylie, I love Candy K and Posie K- and I really want to try head over heels! Thank you so much for reading x

      Liked by 1 person

  6. Love the NARS lip glides! My favorite has to be colourpop 👍🏼

    Like

    1. Noha ♡ says:

      No way! I actually hated colourpop, I keep wanting to try a different colour and see if I just got a bad batch. Thank you for reading xx

      Like

  7. Love this post! I’m so obsessed with liquid lips right now – I just ordered a bunch of liquid lipsticks from Sephora and I’m so excited to try them out!! I was on the fence over the Too Faced & ABH and ended up choosing the ABH… after reading your review I’m regretting my decision haha

    Like

    1. Noha ♡ says:

      Haha aww yeah I wish you went for Too Faced! I’ve never tried the ABH ones so I can’t offer my two cents haha, but people seem to be obsessed with them! Thank you for reading x

      Liked by 1 person

  8. I’m so jealous of your collection!!! No The Balm though? They’re so gooood x

    Like

    1. Noha ♡ says:

      Truuue! I completely forgot I actually picked one up ages ago and was obsessed, they were so insanely long lasting! Thank you for reading x

      Like

  9. I love both Kat Von D and Huda, but I’ve been reaching for my Stila versions the last few weeks.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Love the Stila ones! My absolute favourite formula
      http://www.almostfashionable.com

      Like

  10. My absolute favourite formula is the Stila stay all day and Smashbox is a very close second! I also have been liking the MAKEUPFOREVER formula but the released colors are meh.

    http://www.almostfashionable.com

    Like

  11. The NARS lip glides are on my wish list!

    Like

  12. retrocasual says:

    I love the NYX ones and I’m after the Huda beauty in trophy wife too. At the moment Sephora, Milani, meet Matt Hughes, Colourpop and especially Beauty Bakerie lip whips are all my favourites

    Like

  13. imaginejulie says:

    Do you have any recommendations for budget liquid lipsticks?

    Like

    1. Noha ♡ says:

      Omg wow, you really caught me. I just realized I don’t use any budget liquid lipsticks- that’s crazy! Honestly thank you for this comment, now I’m going to go on a hunt to try some out and get back and write a review on them- stay tuned!! Thank you for reading xx

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

