Palette of The Week: Urban Decay Naked Ultimate Basics

It’s back. Now, this week’s palette was one I expected to be a breeze. The moment I started this series, I knew I’d love the weeks with very simple neutral palettes that I’ve used time and time again. But, I came to a strange realization this week; this series has made me rely on shimmers and creativity. I know I haven’t gotten too far out of my comfort zone the past few weeks, but with the Urban Decay Naked Ultimate Basics palette I was so extremely comfortable that I kind of missed the challenge. That being said, I still loved using this everyday regardless. Now, I did feel that there weren’t any new foundings here, and I’ve written an in depth review of this in the past so I’ve inserted some excerpts in case you missed it- and then I’ve reflected at the end!  Let’s see how I felt about this bad boy…

Now let’s talk shades first- here is a close up of the palette with flash and without, and these are very accurate to real-life representations of the shades ( I never know to trust photos, so I thought I’d confirm that for you). The top row is very reminiscent of Naked 3- it is very pink/blush toned. The bottom is most comparable to the first Naked palette, aside from the life-altering addition of a gorgeous warmer than warm brown. The thing that sold me on this was the shade selection- now I don’t know if this is a matter of personal preference or just something every neutral-lover loves; but for me, all of my go-to everyday use shades are in here. I almost always use a warm brown, the two cooler toned browns next to it are perfect for blending and transition shades for me. As for the top row I love to throw a pink/purple shade across my lid to cool up whatever look I have going on so these are perfect for that. I will say the first 3 shades on the top row might not get that much use from me. However the first shade of each row will get a lot of use- I like to brush a lighter shade across my lid before any look to make blending easier.Of course, a black is always very well loved in any neutral palette- whether for darkening up a look or for a shadow liner look. The plum shade above it has surprisingly gotten more use for me though- don’t be discouraged by the coolness of this tone, I have put this in my outer corner almost every day to darken things and give my eyelids more depth- it honestly just works as a gorgeous darkening shade even with a warm look!

This is hands down one of the best formula of shadows I have ever used. Buttery doesn’t even begin to cover it! The formula is seriously a dream to blend. The pigmentation is insane which has definitely never been the case with the other Naked palettes for me. Just promise me you’ll swatch these if you ever come across them, because honestly they are just insanely smooth and almost creamy! I tend to dabble in more than one palette daily, but recently this just seems to do it all for me! I’ve only ever reached for my custom Makeup Geek palette for my go-to orange transition shade and inner corner highlight, but other than that this seriously does it all. The formula is incomparable and the shades are just everything I ever need- I can tell this is going to be a serious holy grail product that I will continue to use everyday for ages!


I’ve been absolutely loving creating two different looks with this this past week. More often, I went for a cool toned look. I’d place Faith and Lockout in my crease, Instinct on my lid and Blackjack to darken my outer corner! On days where I’m in more of a warm mood I go in with Faith and Lockout again, but I’ll then apply Extra Bitter on my lid and Lethal on the outer corner. The formula was just as gorgeous as I remembered and I’ve been obsessed. My one negative comment, is that I felt super constricted by the lack of shimmers. I ended up having to dip into some other palettes for a bit of shimmer. I’m normally a matte girl but the past few weeks I’ve just really enjoyed incorporating shimmers- and I couldn’t stop!

Nothing surprising here, I knew this palette would be a hit and I know it will always be used regularly. It just has every basic you could possibly need to create a look. You could probably get away with this palette and just a couple of shimmer single shadows in your collection. The transition shades, the lighter shades, the black; it just really is so versatile. I wasn’t too worried about this palette anyway, it’s gotten a lot of use out of me, I never really put it on the back burner. I’m thinking to try something I’m scared of next week, a palette I rarely ever use, stay tuned…

 

 

37 Comments Add yours

  1. I love this palette so much 🙌🏻

    Like

    1. Noha ♡ says:

      It’s such a beauty! Thank you for reading x

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Bailey/Lisa says:

    THE PIGMENT IS SO GOOOOOOOOD 🙂 xxxxx

    Like

    1. Noha ♡ says:

      I KNOOOW RIGHT! Haha, I love it! Thank you for reading x

      Liked by 1 person

  3. kathylcsw says:

    Your photos are awesome!

    Like

    1. Noha ♡ says:

      Aw thank you so much! x

      Like

  4. stashy says:

    This is workhorse type of palette for sure! And the all-matte format was sorely missing from UD’s lineup. I played around with this at the store and found that many of the lighter shades didn’t show up on my skin and / or they look exactly the same when applied.

    Like

    1. Noha ♡ says:

      Yes that is true actually, I think the one negative thing I have to say about is that there are too many light shades too that I just wouldn’t use. Thank you for reading Stashy x

      Like

  5. janahpinku says:

    The shades are beyond gorgeous and are so pigmented! 💕

    Like

    1. Noha ♡ says:

      They really are! Thank you for reading x

      Liked by 1 person

      1. janahpinku says:

        You’re welcome. I always enjoy reading your posts, especially on makeup. 💕

        Like

  6. highstreetbeauty11 says:

    This looks beautiful and so useful for every day x

    Like

    1. Noha ♡ says:

      It really is! Thank you for reading x

      Like

  7. ellymv says:

    I adore UD eyeshadows and I will definitely be picking this up! Such gorgeous colours!

    Elly xo
    ellymv.wordpress.com

    Like

    1. Noha ♡ says:

      It’s gorgeous! Thank you so much for reading x

      Like

  8. The pigment is INSANE! These look absolutely gorgeous – I really need to invest in a good palette like this xx

    Like

  9. Olivia says:

    The pigmentation looks amazing on this and the colours look absolutely perfect!
    -Olivia Xxx

    http://oliviaxalesha.com/blog

    Like

    1. Noha ♡ says:

      They really are! Thank you for reading x

      Like

  10. I really want this palette! I’ll definitely be checking out the rest of this series!
    PaleGirlRambling xo

    Like

    1. Noha ♡ says:

      Thank you so much for stopping by! x

      Like

  11. Penny says:

    I keep looking at the Naked palettes in my local department store and this is gorgeous. Want, want, want!

    Like

    1. Noha ♡ says:

      You need, need, need it! Haha, it’s such a must-buy. Thank you for reading x

      Like

  12. Leigh Smith92 says:

    Love love love this Palette. Great post.
    Love Leigh
    http://Www.loveleighx.com

    Like

    1. Noha ♡ says:

      It’s the best! Thank you for reading Leigh 🙂 x

      Liked by 1 person

  13. The Monday Project says:

    Beautiful photos! I would love to try this palette one day, it’s on my wish list! Xx

    Kirsty | The Monday Project | themondayproject.co.uk

    Like

    1. Noha ♡ says:

      Thank you so much for stopping by!! 🙂 x

      Like

  14. Ema Brewer says:

    This looks sooooooo nice!

    Like

    1. Noha ♡ says:

      It seriously is! Thank you so much for reading Ema x

      Liked by 1 person

  15. Sophie in Wonderland xo says:

    This palette is beautiful I have it but I haven’t touched it yet as I daren’t ruin it!! I need to! xxx

    Like

    1. Noha ♡ says:

      Haha don’t worry, I’ve been digging into it for ages and it still looks just fine! You’ll love it! Thank you for reading Sophie x

      Liked by 1 person

  16. Great post! I absolutely love mine. It’s one palette I’ll probably repurchase because of the versatility of it creating looks using just these shades or adding in some from other palettes but it’s a definite staple in my makeup collection! 💕

    Like

  17. Soo pigmented & such gorgeous colours! Great post 🙂

    Like

    1. Noha ♡ says:

      Thank you so much for reading! x

      Like

  18. I really like your blog! I follow you? Want to follow back? http://Www.beautybykeysh.wordpress.com

    Like

  19. Oh my gosh I love this! How haven’t I seen it before?! It’s so pigmented! I love the naked palettes because you just can’t go wrong with them! Love this post 🙂 xx

    Like

  20. imaginejulie says:

    I have this palette too but i rarely use it .. I find the shade selection rather hard to create a look with. I look best with warm toned looks so for now I haven’t figured out what to do with this palette! I really should use it more often and find out!

    Like

    1. Noha ♡ says:

      Yess you should, honestly it is really good. Read my section on how I used it cause I talk about a warm look I create with it and I think it’ll work if you try it out! Thank you for reading xx

      Like

Leave a Reply

