Battle of the Drugstore Colour-Correctors…

Colour-correcting is definitely a trend that I took years to jump on, but once I did I was obsessed. I’ve talked about them a lot the past few months, I’ve been trying out some different options and samples and it’s been really hard to find one that works. I guess I should begin this post with what I’m looking for when it comes to colour-correcting.

We all know I’ve had my fair share of breakouts…and then some. Along with that struggle comes the all-too-familiar struggle of scarring. On some weeks, I’ll be lucky enough to not break out at all (especially with my recent skincare routine) but unfortunately I still can’t get away with less makeup or less coverage, my scarring leave my face looking like it’s filled with breakouts.

It’s such a serious struggle and try as I might, I have an insanely hard time finding skincare products that actually help them fade. My The Ordinary Alpha Arbutin and Advanced Retinoid have worked wonders, but they’re still working hard and for the mean time I’m yet to be scar-free. That’s why I decided to go for colour-correcting. Because, despite the best coverage of foundation I do still feel like you can faintly see the darkness of my scarring underneath.

However, I still had some concerns that a colour corrector would be visible under my foundation. Or even that it would leave that patch of skin a little cakey or separated. So, what I needed was a lightweight colour corrector that would genuinely correct the colouring without being detectable. While I’ve tried a wide variety of options, these two are the ones I stuck to for a long while and so I think I can come to a verdict. Now, they are both drugstore- one cheaper than the other -and so I thought I’d let you know which of these two you should opt for when it comes to the drugstore/high-street.

NYX Color Correcting Concealer Palette

Now, I raved about this ages ago and it was featured in a favourites post. This was the first form of colour correcting I picked up and I was obsessed. I had a few issues with it but for the most part I could see the difference. My scarring was less visible and I really enjoyed the extra step in my routine. As you can see, I mostly worked through the green and peach colours.

nyx colour correctors

Now, I initially thought I should just use green- then again I didn’t know much about colour-correcting. Then, I did my research and figured out that peach would actually work better with the grey-ish darkness of my scarring. I applied with this a brush and used a patting motion to blend it out. I swore by this step! So I decided to give another brand a whirl…

L.A. Girl PRO. Conceal HD 

I was making an online order and I came across the L.A. Girl Pro concealers, I’d always been curious about trying out the actual concealers but never got around to it. As I said, I had decided to try out more colour-correctors so I decided to go for it- do it for the blog!

L.a. girl pro concealer

I was instantly impressed. The formula was insane, so creamy and pigmented while blending away to nothing. I picked up the green and peach and I actually began layering them and I was loving the finish!

BATTLE IT OUT 

This is the easiest verdict I’ve ever given, L.A. Girl wins easily. I didn’t realize how problematic the NYX was until I used this!

colour correctors

Let’s start with formula. The L.A. Girl correctors blended away so easily and were not detectable on my skin at all, you couldn’t even see a green tint they just balanced out and corrected my darkness. Once I decided to go back and try NYX out I realized how thick the formula was. It was definitely detectable on the skin and it would make my foundation separate on that little patch. I could work with that and counteract it.

What was the real problem here was that I realized I could never use my lesser coverage foundations with this. There was no way, you would completely see the green or peach patches. That sucked for me because I actually prefer my lighter coverage foundations on most days. With the L.A. Girl Pro I could even get away with using a tinted moisturizer and I’d be fine!

colour correctors flatlay

Lastly, what I love so much about the L.A. Girl is just how well it colour corrected honestly! I would end up staring at my skin before applying my foundation because it just left my skin looking completely clear, you couldn’t clearly see peach patches but it just evened things out. I just love how it worked and I’d definitely pick this up over the NYX palette- it’s also a fraction of the price! The NYX Palette retails at £10.00/$11.99 while an L.A. Girl Pro concealer costs $4.99.

img_3336

22 Comments Add yours

  1. highstreetbeauty11 says:

    I have the Sleek Colour Correcting Palette similar to the Nyx one. I like it for under my eyes and around my nose 🙂

    Like

  2. Azra says:

    I have to order these LA girl concealers on e bay, I wanted them for ages. xx

    https://simpleserenity.wordpress.com

    Like

  3. Kali Borovic says:

    How cool! I just recently started using color correcting primers, and I was shocked on how they improved my skin xx.

    Like

  4. cherilyndoes says:

    I have the NYX palette and use the green more than the other colors, which is so wasteful, and the palette is $12! I will definitely pick up the LA Girl, if I can find it. Been looking for this brand for a while now and may just have to order it online. If I can just buy a green corrector without having to get all the other colors I won’t use, that’s a bonus for me! Also, I know the LA Girl is more affordable. Thank you for the post and review!

    Like

    1. Noha ♡ says:

      Exactly! I love how with the LA girl ones you get to choose the colours you’ll actually use. Thank you for reading! x

      Liked by 1 person

  5. This is great! The LA does look a lot neater/easier to use.

    Like

    1. Noha ♡ says:

      Yeah, and the formula is so much better! Thank you for reading x

      Like

  6. I have La Girl concealer and I love it for makeup days that I have to look amazing and full glam on. Nice post😍

    Like

    1. Noha ♡ says:

      Yeah after trying this i really want to try their normal concealer. Thank you for reading x

      Liked by 1 person

  7. Sold once again! Your posts are always a deal breaker on makeup I’ve been eyeing for myself!

    Like

    1. Noha ♡ says:

      Haha I’m glad to encourage other people to over-spend along with me! Thank you for reading McKenz x

      Liked by 1 person

  8. Heard so much about the LA Girl concealers! Colour correcting is everywhere at the moment, I have seen Collection and Loreal bring some out that I’m tempted to check out. Great post as always! xx

    Like

    1. Noha ♡ says:

      Ooooh I haven’t seen L’Oréal, just looked it up it looks really good actually I think I’ll try it out. Thank you for reading Ella xxx

      Liked by 1 person

  9. Interesting, when I saw the title I thought this post wouldn’t be for me. I tried colour correctors years ago and they always left a greenish tinge on my skin that made my foundation look ashy.
    Obviously they have come a long way since then & I maybe I should rethink my stance on them.
    Definitely going to try out the LA Girls ones & see, so thanks for this 🙂
    Also , love the line – “do it for the blog” that’s the excuse that I use for everything I buy now 😀

    Like

    1. Noha ♡ says:

      Yeah if you had a problem with green showing up then the LA girl one is definitely for you! Haha omg yessss I literally apply that line to every single thing. Thank you for reading love! x

      Liked by 1 person

  10. Great read! I’ve only tried the NYX one before & really liked it. I’ll have to keep these other ones in mind. 😊

    Like

    1. Noha ♡ says:

      You should definitely try them out 🙂 Thank you for reading xx

      Liked by 1 person

  11. I tried the LA Girl concealers recently too and they BLEW MY MIND. Like how can it be so good for less than $5?! It’s insane!!!

    Like

    1. Noha ♡ says:

      Right?? I mean I’ve only tried the colour correctors but the formula is so insane I need to try a normal concealer ASAP! Thank you for reading x

      Like

  12. Ari says:

    I have NYX’s tube & doe-foot green liquid CC and the LA Girl green concealer, and I’ve always found they are both a little too pigmented to blend out properly. I have to use higher coverage foundation to make my skin look even after, and I usually prefer light coverage. How were you able to apply them so lightly?

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Noha ♡ says:

      I use them really really lightly, maybe that’s why I find they’re so light? I pat a few dots and blend it out for a bit with a brush and then tap it in with my fingers to really melt it in. If it helps, I recently have been loving Lancome’s colour correctors, they work a lot better than these! x

      Like

Leave a Reply

