Mascara of the Week: Better Than Sex…Was it?

Guess what’s back? Yes, yes, I apologize I know it’s been longer than a week since the last one. Honestly, I just haven’t been getting out much so I didn’t get enough use out of the mascara for the first week haha -keeping it real. So now, after a good 7 uses I’m back. Today’s post is all about the heavily hyped mascara whose name precedes it; Too Faced’s Better Than Sex. Fun fact; they actually have it labeled as Better Than Love in the Middle East Sephora stores – dead. That infamous chunky pink packaging has been a cult favourite for ages now. Now, when it first came out I was one of it’s hugest fans- it was all I would use. Then I kind of fell off the wagon a bit and never really felt the need to go back to it. Well that need definitely came to me more recently, so what better opportunity to give it another try than this series!

I wasn’t quite ready to commit to cracking open my full sized one so I started out with a mini I got as a Sephora point perk once. It was the exact same brush so I was set. I didn’t know what to expect, I had loved it in the past but more recently I’d heard a few of my friends mention that they weren’t getting on with it. I thought maybe I had imagined loving it, or maybe I didn’t really know what a good mascara entailed back then. No, no, no! Honestly, I’m sad this week trial is over!

This mascara has been working miracles for me. I’ve mentioned before, I don’t have many lashes so it takes a lot for a mascara to impress me. While my cult favourites have given me length and insane volume; this mascara has done something special for me. It has given me fluttery lashes! Honestly it’s hard to explain, but it feels as though this mascara has fibres in it or something. It leaves my lashes looking so full and fluttery; wispy is the word to describe them! It honestly feels as though I’ve put on individual lashes. I thought I was all about length, but I am loving the finish of this mascara.

If I had to think of one negative, I’d say that on some days that I’d wear this for too long I would notice tiny pieces of it falling off onto my cheeks. nothing too dramatic, just a couple. It’s something that I think perhaps the waterproof formula wouldn’t have. I’m definitely seriously considering trying out the waterproof one, but I hear people either love the normal one and hate the waterproof or vice versa -so I’m not sure, what do you think?

I’m obsessed with how this leaves my lashes looking and honestly don’t think I can stop using it over the next few days haha, might have to alternate between it and next week’s mascara of the week!

Let me know if you’re a Better Than Sex fan or not!

INSTAGRAM ♡ TWITTER ♡

img_4120-1

14 Comments Add yours

  1. Better than love – I dont know why that made me giggle so much! Heard such amazing things about this! xxx

    Like

    1. Noha ♡ says:

      Haha I died when I saw it! Yeah me too, but everyone’s really sounding off in my comments about how terribly it worked for them haha so I don’t know if I’ll pick up a full size. Thank you for reading x

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Kali Borovic says:

    I had the same problem with flaking. I switched to the waterproof and it went away though! xx.

    Like

    1. Noha ♡ says:

      Ooooh maybe I should try it out then, I’ve been so worried I’d hate it since I love this formula but I think I’ll try out a travel size! Thank you for reading xx

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Kali Borovic says:

        You’re welcome! xx.

        Like

  3. elizavania says:

    I love this mascara too!
    but I have to heat-curl my lashes because it doesn’t stay up. It my lashes problem not the mascara though.
    I want to try the waterproof one soon.

    Like

    1. Noha ♡ says:

      Mmm yeah I see what you mean honestly, most mascaras don’t keep my lashes up so I just accept it but I should try heat-curling! Thank you for reading x

      Like

  4. cherilyndoes says:

    I bought the travel size and LOVED it! A friend bought me the full sized and it was so clumpy and messy that I returned it for another. The same thing happened. I LOVED how it made my lashes look, and I never had a problem with flaking, but for $23USD the product was a mess (for me). I am really glad that you have had a good experience. It really is a great mascara despite its flaws. Thank you for the review!

    Like

    1. Noha ♡ says:

      Oh noooo, maybe it’s all about the mini size with this one haha. Yeah, I don’t know if I’ll buy the full size honestly, drugstore is just too good to me haha. Thank you for reading x

      Liked by 1 person

  5. kathylcsw says:

    I am not a fan. I find the brush too big and clunky to sue without getting mascara all over my eyelids. It clumps on me too. I guess I just prefer drugstore brands.

    Like

    1. Noha ♡ says:

      Oooh no, yeah it is definitely a love hate kind of product. I honestly expected to have all those problems but I don’t know, I’m feeling it haha. I do love a drugstore mascara in general though! Thank you for reading x

      Liked by 1 person

  6. This is the best mascara!

    Like

    1. Noha ♡ says:

      Yess I’m obsessed all over again! Thank you for reading x

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

