This Saved My Concealer Game!

Your girl has been struggling. Honestly, I thought I was set (too punny) for life for a while there with my Mac Prep + Prime and RCMA powder. They just haven’t been cutting it. I’ve ran out of my Mac and honestly I just feel like loose powders are getting too heavy and cakey under my eyes no matter what I do.  My undereyes too tend to crease and cake up, so I figured I can’t really get away with just patting a bit of a pressed powder on to set it, I was wrong.


Rimmel’s Stay Matte has been a classic drugstore cult favourite for years now. When it first came out, I did love it as much as the next girl. But ever since, I really haven’t used it for a good 3 years. I picked one up recently during a drugstore series on here and decided to give it a whirl. I had planned to use it to set my face, naturally. Then one day, it occurred to me that maybe its mattifying powers could work to keep my under-eyes in place? Life. Changed.

I tried this out on a day at home, I was sure it wouldn’t work. I used it with my recent favourite Rimmel Match Perfection Concealer which leaves my undereyes looking so smooth and hydrated. I was instantly surprised. This left my under-eyes so blurred and soft. They felt set in place, and nowhere near cakey. I thought this would turn badly throughout the day, but it kept getting better. This didn’t cause any creasing whatsoever, yet after a few hours it seemed to completely melt into my skin. My undereyes didn’t look powdery at all, they looked as hydrated and smooth as when I first applied concealer. I was SHOOK. So I decided to put it to the test the next day.

I whipped out my trusty Tarte Shape Tape, now I love this bad boy for extreme coverage while still giving me the hydration and smoothness I look for. I don’t want a heavy duty and cakey concealer! The powder set it in place beautifully and I was left with the same results; it just got better and better throughout the day.

I can’t even explain to you how lightweight this powder is. I pat it on with my Duo-Fibre brush and use the littlest bit of product, I honestly still don’t understand how it works. Could it be? Did I just discover a serious holy grail that’s insanely affordable? I’m still in awe honestly. I mean I know it works quite well on the face, but who knew it would be so extraordinary to set concealer!! I cannot believe how much money I’ve wasted on translucent powders. I will keep you all posted on how this keeps working, but so far I am beyond impressed!

img_4120-1

21 Comments Add yours

  1. Maha Shahid says:

    The Rimmel Stay Matte Powder is genius. I love this product so much. Great review and spot on about the powder πŸ˜€

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Noha β™‘ says:

      Thank you so much for reading!! xx

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Azra says:

    Rimmel Stay Matte is one of my favorite powders, it’s really great especially for under eye area. xx

    Like

    1. Noha β™‘ says:

      Aaah isn’t it just the best! Can’t wait to try it out on my face too to see how it works on there. Thank you for reading xx

      Liked by 1 person

  3. kathylcsw says:

    I’ve never tried it under my eyes but it is a go-to to keep the shine away in the warm months.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I so badly want to get my hands on the Rimmel stay matte powder, but I just need to spend some time finding my shade. With it being a mattifying powder though, I thought it would cause creasing under the eyes (if one has dry under eyes). I so badly want to get my hands on it now. Great review.

    Like

    1. Noha β™‘ says:

      Yess you need it, it’s so good! I think they have a transluscent colour maybe you could try that! Thank you for reading xx

      Like

  5. This powder is by far my favorite! Loved reading this review! πŸ’“

    Like

    1. Noha β™‘ says:

      Thank you so much for reading!! x

      Liked by 1 person

  6. I feel like the Rimmel Stay Matte Powder would be a good buy for me, judging by this review. I’ve just about hit pan on my Essence All About Matte translucent powder.

    https://sassyfrombirth.wordpress.com/2017/05/01/sassy-wishes-may-make-up-wishlist/

    Like

    1. Noha β™‘ says:

      Oooh I’ve always wanted to try the Essence one tbh! You should definitely give this a try, I’m obsessed. Thank you for reading x

      Liked by 1 person

  7. Alexis Ann says:

    I love this powder to set my face over all, have never tried under eye πŸ€” Love the review ✨

    Like

    1. Noha β™‘ says:

      I actually haven’t tried it on my face yet haha, think I’m going to give it a whirl today because if it’s anything like it is under my eyes – then I’m so ready! Thank you for reading xx

      Liked by 1 person

  8. I ran out a few months ago and didn’t replace my Stay Matte but having read this I’m questioning than decision!! *onto the list it goes* πŸ™‚

    Like

    1. Noha β™‘ says:

      Yesss girl put it on that list haha! I’m a new woman honestly, don’t know why I ever strayed! Thank you for reading x

      Liked by 1 person

  9. annasbeautyspace says:

    I love the Rimmel Stay Matte powder!! 😍

    Like

    1. Noha β™‘ says:

      Aaah honestly I don’t why I haven’t used it in ages, such a gem! Thank you for reading Anna xxx

      Liked by 1 person

  10. Great post πŸ‘

    Like

  11. angelspartaness says:

    The Rimmel Stay Matte powder is my first, last, and only. I started using it in like 2011 because I was in high school and it was the cheapest thing, and I was tired of my face always being shiny. It was before I knew much about makeup. I have been hooked on the powder ever since, and was surprised in recent years to learn that it’s a very popular cult favorite! I also see you have my fave concealer back there… I suck at concealer but the Maybelline Instant Age Rewind is pretty fantastic.

    -Helene, https://angelspartaness.com/

    Like

    1. Noha β™‘ says:

      Yesss honestly I used to swear by it and I haven’t used it in years- can’t believe it took me so long to fall back in love with it. I just love what it does for my undereyes! Thank you for reading xx

      Like

Leave a Reply

