My Everyday Skincare Routine- AM (Skincare Week)…

Welcome, welcome, welcome (breaks into ‘welcome to Ilyria’- get the reference? comment below!). What more appropriate way to kick off skincare week than with how I kick off my day. I’ve written about some skincare products I’ve loved, and every time I get the same feedback -questions about my skincare routine. It’s shocking that it’s taken me a year to cover this, honestly! Let’s not waste any more time, right?

You’re all pretty familiar, but let’s just quickly cover my skin. I have combination skin, for years I’ve constantly suffered breakouts until a couple of months ago when I switched up my skincare routine and I’ve stuck to it -give or take- ever since. I still occasionally get the odd breakout, it is usually because I try out a new skincare product and react to it. But, if I stick to this routine alone then I’m good to go. I take skincare very very seriously. I’ve invested so much in it over the years, and honestly I can’t leave the house without makeup but if I had to give up makeup or skincare it would have to be makeup. I just very strongly believe it’s more important to protect and improve my skin rather than continue to cover up the problems.

Cleanse –I have a confession, I definitely used to be that girl once upon a time -you know the one, the girl that loves that glow she has on her skin when she wakes up and avoids washing it. NO. That glow? Dirt and leftover skincare. Not pretty. Besides, with the right products you should end up with the same glow by the end of your morning routine- just cleaner! I cleanse twice a day religiously. It has honestly been a huge part in saving my skin. I like to use a really gentle cleanser in the morning to just remove dirt and soothe my skin. I’ve been beyond obsessed, as you all know, with my L’Oreal Fine Flowers Gel-Cream Wash. I love the smell, it just feels so gentle on my skin and always leaves it insanely soft.

Tone- Now, this is a recent purchase but I’ve been loving it so far. Usually this step consists of rose water, and if I’m honest I only started toning in the mornings this past year. I was so lazy, I would genuinely wake up and apply my makeup directly onto my skin. EWWWWW. I eventually started cleansing, but it really took ages for me to do anything else. Thankfully, I’ve been cured. So, I’ve been loving the COSRX AHA/BHA Clarifying Treatment Toner. I actually picked this up because I read a lot of you raving about it- bloggers made me buy it haha. I love that I can just mist it onto my skin, and I think it may be actually helping minimize my pores slightly. It always leaves my skin glowing which I love.

Extras- These steps are typically the final steps in a skincare routine, but after reading a Caroline Hirons post once I realized it’s best to apply eye cream before any creams. So this is when I pop on my eye cream. I alternate either between the Boots Botanics Age Defense Hydrating Eye Cream or my recent purchase of The Ordinary Caffeine Solution 5% + EGCG. Then finally I top my lips off with some of my Dr. Pawpaw Soothing Balm, although usually my lips don’t need much after my nighttime routine- soon you’ll see…..

Treat- I don’t usually like to apply too much to my skin in the morning, i don’t like how it sits and I hate how makeup goes on on top of it. But, I do like to sneak in one dose of treatment. What I’ve been loving is The Ordinary’s Niacinamide 10% + Zinc 1%, I honestly think this is what’s saved my skin from any breakouts. So, naturally I try to get a dose of it whenever I can.

Moisturize-Now, I have an even worse confession. I only very very recently started moisturizing. Ok, it feels so good to write that down. I honestly did not moisturize ever. There was the occasional moisturizing before applying makeup, but that’s about it and I never stuck to it. I just never liked how it left my skin or how my skin looked. I could honestly slap myself. Thankfully again, we have been cured! I started off my incorporating moisturizers at night and now I do it twice a day, whether I’m leaving the house or not. What I’ve been beyond obsessed with has been the Soap & Glory Speed Plump All Day Super Moisture Marvel– this is genuinely life changing and works absolute miracles. Smells lovely too!

Mask- I’ve left this for last because this isn’t really a daily thing. Twice a week I will use my all time favourite Soap & Glory The Fab Pore 2-in-1 Mask & Peel. I love this to keep my dead skin away, and just as a deep exfoliation. I will use this after the cleansing step usually.

CAN WE TALK- I don’t know if you’ve all noticed, but every single product is affordable…No, this was not even remotely planned. I can’t even begin to tell you all how much I’ve spent on skincare. From Charlotte Tilbury’s Finest to Tatcha to the infamous P50. Yet, here I have ended up. Over the years nothing has ever drastically fixed my skin, I’ve always struggled with breakouts, pores and texture. This is genuinely the first time I have ever had this clear of skin. It wasn’t planned, it just so happened that the products that worked for me are all super affordable. It started out with just The Ordinary, then I discovered these Soap & Glory products that really worked for me, and then L’Oreal really wowed me with their cleansers. It was gradual and took a couple of months for me to end up with an affordable routine- cannot stress enough that this was not conscious at all!! Just goes to show, it’s not about the price tag, it’s just about what works best with your skin. If you take anything from this post, take that. I’ve always been a person to only spend a lot on my skincare, but apparently all I’d achieved is wasting my money.

img_4120-1

21 Comments Add yours

  1. Azra says:

    I also have to make skin care routine post for my blog. I enjoyed reading about your favorite products and I have to say that Loreal cleanser looks really nice. I have to try it. xx

    Like

    1. Noha ♡ says:

      Oooh yes please do, I loved reading your morning routines! Yes I love the loreal cleansers, just posted all about them haha they’re amazing. Thank you for reading babe xx

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Your pictures look amazing! x

    Like

    1. Noha ♡ says:

      Aw thank you so much!! Thank you for reading xx

      Liked by 1 person

  3. I’ve seen people raving about The Ordinary range….so I’m quite keen to try it.

    Yay for budget skincare 😉

    Like

    1. Noha ♡ says:

      Yess you need to try it, it’s honestly the best! Thank you for reading x

      Like

  4. LOL I will try my hardest to not judge you for not moisturising! But better late than never right? and I also agree on affordable skin care! A lot of people think you need to fork out 1000’s of dollars to get great skin but a lot of affordable things are equally as effective on the skin! Great post.

    Pearl || thepearlylife.wordpress.com

    Like

    1. Noha ♡ says:

      Haha yess better late than never! Yess, i was definitely one of those people haha, definitely found my way eventually though. Swear by these products and they’re so so affordable! Thank you for reading x

      Liked by 1 person

  5. Victoria says:

    I really want to get my hands on that CosRX toner. I’ve heard nothing but good things about it 🙂 Also, that The Ordinary Niacinamide treatment should actually just be used at night because it peels off and like you said, makeup doesn’t look good on top of it. However, Glossier Niacinamide Serum is a better alternative if you want a Niacinamide treatment that you can use underneath your makeup 🙂

    Like

    1. Noha ♡ says:

      Ooooh thank you so much! I’m definitely going to look into that, I’ve always been so tempted to try out Glossier anyway so. Thank you for reading Victoria xx

      Like

  6. Starluster says:

    The only product we have available in South Africa is Dr.paw paw. Would’ve loved to try the boots eye cream. I struggle to find an eye cream that actually works.

    Like

    1. Noha ♡ says:

      Aww I’m sorry haha, that must be so annoying. Well Dr Paw Paw is amazing so you win some you lose some haha thank you for reading x

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Starluster says:

        Have you ever tried the Dr Paw Paw on your hair? I’ve read that you can, but I’m too chicken to try it 😂

        Like

  7. Kali Borovic says:

    Your photos are absolutely stunning! xx.

    Like

    1. Noha ♡ says:

      Aw that honestly means so much, I always hate how my photos turn out haha! Thank youuu xx

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Kali Borovic says:

        Stop it! They’re gorgeous xx.

        Like

  8. hoiyinli says:

    So great that this routine works for you and even better that it’s affordable!

    I like to spend money on skincare too but I also have my limits. For example, I always thought Tatcha was too expensive for my pocket and even if it did work for my skin (tbh never tried it and probably never will), I believe there are always cheaper alternatives. Right now, my skincare mostly consists of The Ordinary and Clinique which I have found to be magical in the past year. 🙂

    Like

    1. Noha ♡ says:

      True!! I actually rarely have anything Clinique, I should try them out more – I’m all about The Ordinary lately haha. Thank you for reading xx

      Liked by 1 person

  9. Tigritsa says:

    Love reading posts like this! I think skin care is so important. I’m glad you figured out a routine that works well for you! I love affordable products. I could never see myself paying $40 on a cleanser! I feel like in general it’s probably not necessary for expensive products unless they’re for wrinkles. Then I can see having to pay more to get better results lol.

    Like

  10. camsieb says:

    Interest products and great that they’re affordable
    .

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

