Plot Twist: I Hate Caroline Hirons’ Double Cleanser…

Caroline is and always will be my skincare fairy godmother- I trust her with my life, or with my skin but it’s the same level of intensity really. When I heard she was actually releasing a form of skincare I think I went into severe shock for a few minutes then recovered and added it to my wish list. For as long as she’s been speaking about skincare, it’s crazy that she’s never had any kind of collab or even released her own skincare line. Finally, she’s decided to bless us, and how appropriate of a release; Caroline has harped on about double cleansing for as long as I can remember. In case you have no idea what I’m talking about; she partnered up with Pixi by Petra to create a double cleansing pot that contains one side of a solid cleansing oil and the other a cleansing cream.Needless to say, I ordered it instantly. I didn’t even glance at the price or think about the purchase; I knew I needed it.

Well, I was as surprised as you are now to realize that this did nothing for me. I’ve tried a multitude of makeup removers. I dabble in balms, I’ve tried oils, and I’ve even had my wipes phases. More recently I’ve been strictly sticking to the Makeup Eraser, and it’s been working miracles. But I was ready to set all of that side for this bad boy. Wrong call.

The first time I used this I was so shocked. I massaged the balm onto my face for a good few minutes as I always do- and when I came to wipe it off with a wet flannel I was so confused. I could see my eyeliner was still there and my mascara. How? I thought maybe they would come off as I wiped, nope. I went in for round 2 which I was already disappointed that I had to do, and the eyeliner was gone but the mascara was still not budging. What? How? What kind of sorcery is this?

I set this aside and didn’t use it for a while until the other day, and I had the exact same result. The cleansing cream was less disappointing, but honestly it felt like any simple drugstore cream cleanser- nothing special whatsoever.


So there it is, this double cleanser does absolutely nothing for me. It doesn’t work at all and most of all it’s not worth the price or hype whatsoever. I’m so blown away honestly. I worship everything Caroline Hirons does, and I’ve seen this all over Instagram for ages now. Where did I go wrong? Did I get a bad batch? It saddens me to say, but this double cleanser was an absolute let down and it really upsets me! I love her and I love the packaging and I was so excited to continue to repurchase this- what now?

img_4120-1

13 Comments Add yours

  1. Daniela says:

    Despite wasting money on this cleanser you can tell yourself you can save money on future purchases. Of course, I love Caroline, too, but if the cleanser doesn’t work for you, you can’t do anything about it, can you? Anyway, I value your honest opinion😘

    Like

  2. Sophie in Wonderland xo says:

    What a shame I probably won’t pick this up now, I was very tempted as like you say its been everywhere! I will save my cash! xxx

    Like

    1. Noha ♡ says:

      It’s such a shame honestly! But a lot of people seem to love it, so i really don’t know. I wouldn’t risk it though! Thank you for reading Sophie x

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Stella says:

    Yes! This stuff was terrible – I think regular old lotion would take off as much if not more product than this. Totally blew me away at how ineffective it was and it is supposed to be a double cleanse. Psh. Thanks for sharing!!

    Like

    1. Noha ♡ says:

      Yesss, thank you so much! I honestly was convinced I got a bad batch because there’s no way everyone is obsessed with it apart from me! Thank you for reading x

      Liked by 1 person

  4. KatieAnne says:

    Oh nooo! This was going to be my next try once I’d finished my current cleanser. But I’ve heard a few people say now it doesn’t get rid of all make especially eye make up. That’s a shame 😦

    Like

    1. Noha ♡ says:

      Yes, it really is! But a lot of people do love it so I don’t know, maybe some of us just got a bad batch! Thank you for reading x

      Liked by 1 person

  5. oh! no im so sad this didn’t work for you! this is a holy grail item for me!!!

    Like

    1. Noha ♡ says:

      I knoow, so many people love it it’s so sad </3. Maybe I just got a bad batch! Thank you for reading x

      Liked by 1 person

  6. Jen says:

    I was thinking to try this one since it’s from Caroline. Hmm…I probably won’t after reading your post. Thanks for sharing.

    Like

    1. Noha ♡ says:

      Of course, glad to help! Thank you for reading x

      Liked by 1 person

  7. Starluster says:

    I hate when one is super excited for a certain product and it ends up not being worth it 😩

    Like

    1. Noha ♡ says:

      Right? Sucks! Thank you for reading x

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

