Holy Grail Skincare -Luxury Edition…

While completely inadvertently, I’ve realized that most of this skincare week has been centered around affordable products. Honestly, it’s such a coincidence of time. I’ve only ever invested in expensive skincare, I’d always made a point to steer clear of cheaper skincare. It was only a couple of months ago that I fell head over heels for The Ordinary, and only a month ago that I discovered the L’Oreal cleansers and Korean Beauty. I’m not complaining, I’m very happy that my skin has been better than ever and my bank account has been satisfied as well! However, this doesn’t mean that I don’t still regularly reach for my luxury favourites. For today, picking out my holy grail luxury skincare was easier than ever. I just took a second to think what products do I still use regularly despite my transition to affordable skincare- and here’s what I came out with…

Let’s start with the luxury-est of all luxury skincare; SK-II’s Facial Treatment Essence. Honestly, I regret the day I received a mini sample of this. I started incorporating an Essence into my skincare routine about a year ago after writing an article about the Korean skincare routine. I honestly love the step, and I do feel like I notice a difference when I don’t use it. Now, I do have a theory that other essences may work similarly to this overly priced one -in fact I just ordered the Time Revolution Essence which I’ve read repeatedly is a dupe (I’ll keep you posted). What this does for me is that it helps the rest of my routine work better and adhere nicer. I also feel like it’s played a huge role in helping to brighten my pigmentation. It does feel very hydrating as well, and I feel like it rebalances my skin after toning- I just swear by this! Really hoping the Korean beauty dupe works though- there is no way I’d spend $79 on this!

Clearly I love my masks, considering the next three products are… I’ve just been so happy with my skincare routine that I just don’t turn to my luxury serums or toners anymore. Masks however, I’m all for! Charlotte Tilbury’s Goddess Skin Clay Mask has been a favourite of mine for ages now. I love using this before applying makeup for special events. It really works to soften my skin and leave it smoother, and I do feel like it visibly improves the appearance of my pores! Definitely more of a quick fix though, I never notice any long term results with this…

Now, this is a very recent discovery. My sister has been a huge fan of the Fresh Rose Face Mask for ages now, and I recently got two deluxe samples so I’d been wanting to try it out. At the beginning of this year I had a terrible huge breakout, and typically I’d overtreat the pimples with as many harsh products as I can – terrible, I know. But this time I decided to leave well enough alone. Then I thought maybe it would be a good idea to  use a gentle soothing mask because my skin felt so sore. I applied this and I was obsessed. This just soothed my skin so dramatically, and i feel like it really toned down the redness. From that day, I’ve always turned to this mask if my skin ever feels tight or congested or if I do suffer the odd breakout. It works so much better than any spot treatment honestly, it’s so gentle and calming!

Lastly, Rose is clearly a theme here. I constantly need to have an exfoliating mask in rotation. I just find that my biggest skin issue is texture and bumpy skin, so I love a good exfoliation. I love how gentle the Origins Original Skin Mask feels, it has the tiniest beads in it and really works more as a clay mask. As I wash this off and rub the beads into my skin and it always leaves my skin super smooth and soft- and I do feel like it helps a lot with redness as well.

Let me know what your top luxury skincare picks are!

img_4120-1

12 Comments Add yours

  1. Azra says:

    Hopefully one day I can try something from Fresh, seems like all people love their products. Lovely post dear. xx

    Like

  2. outnaboutweb says:

    I love the packaging! It looks so classy!
    love, elena

    https://outnaboutweb.wordpress.com

    Like

  3. janahpinku says:

    I’ve been wanting to try the SK-II Treatment Essence too but yeah it’s so pricey. I think the dupe you mentioned is the Missha Time Revolution Essence which is also a great product and so popular in the K-Beauty skincare scene.

    Like

  4. kathylcsw says:

    I got samples of the Fresh Soy Face cleanser at Christmas and it was fabulous. However, I won’t pay almost $40 for a cleanser! I hope to someday get a sample of the Fresh Rose Mask. I love roses in skincare products.

    Like

    1. Noha ♡ says:

      Yess you need to get your hands on a sample, even just asking for one at Sephora. Totally get what you mean though, I never end up purchasing the full size of luxury products I love haha- just can’t do it! Thank you for reading xx

      Liked by 1 person

  5. stashy says:

    I’m curious to try that SK-II’s Facial Treatment Essence… so many raves about it! But I’d probably curse it once I end up falling in love with it.

    Like

    1. Noha ♡ says:

      Haha exactly! But I’m going to try out a dupe soon so I’ll let you know how it works out! Thank you for reading xx

      Like

  6. Starluster says:

    So shocking that you don’t see long term results with the Charlotte Tilbury product. I’ve heard only great things about her skin care products. I’m eyeing her sheet masks and bronze and glow palette 😁

    Like

    1. Noha ♡ says:

      Yeah I know, it’s so unfortunate. But the short term results are pretty amazing haha. Yeah I picked up the sheet mask and I’m so excited to try it out! Thank you for reading xx

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Starluster says:

        Oh! Please do a review on the sheet mask when you’ve tried it 😬😬😬 xx

        Like

  7. Saskia says:

    I really love to try out SK-II sometime, and CT as well (though not per se skincare, but makeup mostly). X

    Like

    1. Noha ♡ says:

      Yeah, this is really one of the few CT products I have. I really want to try her base products like the foundation and the light wonder! Thank you for reading xx

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

