Evening Skincare Routine

Bittersweet as it may be, skincare week has come to an end. What way could be more fitting than to end it with how I end every day? I’ve been strict about maintaining a night time routine religiously ever since I was 16. What began as a simple nightly use of Neutrogena’s 2-in-1 wash and mask ( you know the one ) has now grown to be a 7 step extravaganza, and that’s on regular days! I should note, about twice a week I will also include a clay mask as the start of the routine and a sheet mask at the end, in case you wondered. So let’s see what I get up to every night while watching an episode of One Tree Hill or a Vlog…


Now, you know my love for a deep cleanse. On most nights I’ll just use my L’Oreal Pure Clay Detox Wash, but on days where I’ve been wearing makeup I will always use  my trusty Makeup Eraser first. Call it gimmicky all you want, but it works better than any form of makeup removal I’ve used. I love the Detox Wash at night because it leaves my skin feeling deeply cleansed but not too stripped.

This next step has only been incorporated recently so I don’t have much of an opinion yet, but I’ve been using The Ordinary Glycolic Acid Toning Solution as my toner, it’s only been a few days and it hasn’t broken me out so so far so good. Before this I was using my same morning toner; COSRX AHA/BHA Clarifying Treatment Toner.

As per the Hirons’ recommendation, I use my eye cream before applying anything else. Lately I’ve been using The Ordinary’s Caffeine ECGC Solution which I’m not too sure about. I do see results, but it doesn’t feel hydrating at all. I prefer my eye creams to be more hydrating and preventative than to help brighten for now.

Next comes my favourite and most luxurious step; using an essence. I do love the SK-II Facial Treatment Essence but I am planning to switch it out for my Missha Time Revolution Treatment Essence soon. I pour some of this into my hands and pat it onto my skin. It feels so hydrating and I don’t know how, but I do feel like this helps everything that follows it to sink in better.

My favourite duo have been a strict fixture of The Ordinary’s Niacinamide + Zinc followed by the Alpha Arbutin+ HA. I don’t know how they do it, but these two keep breakouts at bay and have been working to brighten my scarring. I swear by them,

Lastly, another recent addition is The Ordinary’s Azelaic Acid Suspension. I really don’t know how I feel about this. It’s obviously too soon to see results, but I’m not a huge fan of how it feels. It’s very matte and velvety and not hydrating. It also feels very empty, the tube itself, but then again it is extremely inexpensive so that’s fine. We’ll see, I’ll keep you posted on this one.

*sidenote* I actually completely forgot to mention or photograph my moisturizer and neck cream step because I keep them next to my bed. I switch out my night cream but lately I’ve been using Sunday Riley Tidal Cream , I just have a sample for now but I’m actually loving it so I might just have to purchase a full size. Then for my neck I’ve been using the Olay Regenerist Night Recovery Cream and I just love how this feels and smells, I’m trying it out before investing in a cream catered to your neck! 

And that’s all folks. I hope you’ve enjoyed skincare week, it has definitely inspired me to incorporate skincare more often on my blog!

img_4120-1

13 Comments Add yours

  1. Azra says:

    I can’t wait for those Loreal washes to come here. You made me want to buy all of them. Lovely post. xx

    Like

    1. Noha β™‘ says:

      I can’t wait for you to try them haha, they’re honestly the best and so so cheap! Thank you for reading xxx

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Starluster says:

    Omg so guess what?! The Loreal washes are available in South Africa! Im so shocked cause we usually have to wait for months and months. So confused about which one to try out. I want all! 😫 also, I LOVE my makeup eraser. Its so gentle on my eyes especially. Makeup wipes/oil burns my eyes extremely.

    Like

    1. Noha β™‘ says:

      Yaaaaaaaaay!!! Omg so excited for you! My faves are the Fine Flowers one and the Detox one. Omg makeup eraser is the best, literally nothing compares! xx

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Kali Borovic says:

    I’ve heard such great things about The Ordinary! I really need to try them out xx.

    Like

    1. Noha β™‘ says:

      You do! They’re honestly so so amazing x

      Liked by 1 person

  4. yeonandbee says:

    I’ve heard soooo much about the ordinary and been meaning to try a low commitment product. Any recommendations which would be best in this case?

    Like

    1. Noha β™‘ says:

      Hmmm I think I’d have to say Advanced retinoid πŸ™‚ thank you for reading x

      Like

  5. Victoria says:

    I have been meaning to try that SK-II Essence but I’ll have to stick with Missha for now as the former is too pricey. Haha. I have yet to grab myself a bottle of that The Ordinary Niacinamide but I currently swear by their Alpha Arbutin!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. hoiyinli says:

    The Ordinary has more new products?! They are really going for it this year! I swear, every season, there’s like 10 new products, haha.

    I would love to try the SK-II essence one day just for the luxurious experience, and I’ve yet to try the Missha one cos I heard it’s a good dupe for the SK-II.

    I know what you mean about the Azelaic Acid. It sinks in so fast, and feels velvety but it’s not exactly soothing. In fact for me, it tingles and it’s the MOST BIZARRE feeling. My whole face tingles, but it’s not exactly burning either and I can’t say it’s itchy either, although it can give that false alarm cos it’s tingling so much. I think over time, I liked it better but definitely won’t be everyone’s favourite.

    Like

    1. Noha β™‘ says:

      I know right? I can hardly keep up with all their releases, and I love every single one!

      So I literally just tried the Missha one yesterday, and wow. I’ve already noticed a difference. I woke up and my skin is so so so so so SOFT! It’s crazy.

      No way? it doesn’t tingle for me but honestly I think I’m going to stop using it, it just doesn’t feel great and I haven’t noticed any difference. We’ll see though :/

      Thank you for all your comments! Love talking to you πŸ™‚ x

      Liked by 1 person

  7. Tigritsa says:

    Loved skincare week!

    Like

    1. Noha β™‘ says:

      Aw thank youu! x

      Like

Leave a Reply

