Drugstore Disappointment: Garnier Micellar Cleansing Wipes…

A couple of years ago, Micellar waters took over the makeup removal game. Everyone was using them, and they were considered miracle workers. I, myself was a huge fan of Bioderma. Then we were all shook when Garnier gave us the same results at a fraction of the price. I was a huge fan of the Garnier Micellar Water, that is until I discovered my Makeup Eraser.

Now, wipes are a huge throwback. Despite Neutrogena’s efforts to bring them back, they have kind of died down. A few months ago I decided to give them another whirl, just to wipe off my cleansing balm or oil instead of using a flannel. I picked up the Garnier Micellar Oil-Infused wipes and they blew me away. They were soaked in just the right amount of product and they glided around so easily, and they removed my makeup insanely well. I could even get away with using them alone. So when I came to repurchase, I decided to try out the Micellar Water ones. I knew I’d love them…


Where do I even begin to describe how terrible these are. Let’s start with how dry they are. I genuinely doubt there is any product inside these wipes, it’s hardly wet. Which only serves to make it impossible to work with. This wipe DRAGS. It is so impossible to smoothly wipe your face, it drags along and just glides on top of the skin- I never feel like it’s really cleansing it or wiping anything off.


If the horrible process weren’t enough, then the fact that this doesn’t work is. It got nowhere near beginning to remove my eye makeup, hardly even moved it. I could still visibly see specks of foundation on my face. So, if you can explain to me the point in using these, please proceed…

They don’t work, they’re horrible to try to work with and I just completely despise them. This was especially disappointing considering how amazing the Micellar water is, so I don’t understand. Perhaps I got a bad batch? I’d definitely skip these on the drugstore aisles, reach for the oil-infused ones instead!

img_4120-1

13 Comments Add yours

  1. Azra says:

    I just hate when you buy makeup removing wipe and it’s dry, like how am I supposed to remove makeup if there is no product in? Great post, won’t be buying these. xx

    Like

  2. Ahh this sucks! What a shame! Although, I do like reading negative reviews because people don’t always comment when it’s something they don’t like or speak honestly about it. Nice to know that I should stay well away!! Xxx

    Like

  3. Personally I’m not a fan of face wipes, however I would recommend the Garnier Oil Face Wipes, they don’t dry out your skin and they do remove makeup. Great post though x

    Like

    1. Noha ♡ says:

      Yess I know, I love those! that’s what made me want to try these out. Those are absolute miracle workers. Thank you for reading xx

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Ooh Garnier has some new face masks and they were also dissapointment too for me. And I won’t try these thank you for review

    Like

    1. Noha ♡ says:

      Aww no way? I actually really wanted to try those face masks out. So disappointing! Thank you for reading xx

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I don’t like them for dry skin tooo soapy and clean feeling. Nahh don’t like them 🙂

        Like

  5. Starluster says:

    Ugh! How disappointing! I actually take some micellar water and throw it directly into the makeup remover wipes packaging. Then I seal it again and afterward I find it to be less dry. It doesn’t work 100% but it does help to a certain extent. I just HATE when wipes dry out on me. That’s why I prefer my makeup eraser.

    Like

    1. Noha ♡ says:

      Hmmm that’s actually interesting, I don’t want to throw them away so maybe I’ll try that out and see if that can save them! Thank youu xx

      Liked by 1 person

  6. Tigritsa says:

    I hate dry wipes too! I tried some Burt’s Bees wipes and they were way too dry for me. I like the Simple Micellar makeup removing wipes. They work great!

    Like

    1. Noha ♡ says:

      Hmmm I should try them out, I’ve never tried anything from the simple range honestly and I hear so much about it. Thank you for reading xx

      Liked by 1 person

  7. This makes my face burn when I use them. Not a fan! Such a disappointment.

    Like

    1. Noha ♡ says:

      They’re so terrible honestly! So disappointing. Thank you for reading xxx

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

