Gimmick or Gold: Colourpop’s Ultra Blotted Lips…

My blog contains a fair few Colourpop hauls. If you’ve been around, you’ll know I recently became obsessed with the brand. Think of them as the makeup version of The Ordinary for me. I just couldn’t believe I’d discovered such an affordable brand that had such amazing quality products. I can’t seem to stop.


More recently, I picked up a couple of their Ultra Blotted Lips. The concept was just so unique and intriguing to me. I tried out the Blotted Lips a while ago, and they work kind of like a dry lip balm that gives your lips a bit of colour without being too much. I loved how those worked, they did fade quickly but I was okay with topping it up. The Ultra Blotted Lips come in liquid form and promise a matte-r and transfer-proof formula. They also claim to be long wearing. To  me, this is a very gimmicky kind of product so I thought it’d be interesting to give you all a review on whether I think it’s just a gimmick or it actually works! Let’s see how they fared.


I picked up two shades; a true blue pink in Slide and a deep coral in Doozy. I was so excited for these, it seemed like they would fix the problems I had with the blotted lips. I was sorely mistaken. It really upsets me to say that these were an absolute fail. They applied beautifully, and instantly I was obsessed with how they looked. Then they dried…

These dry so insanely crusty. They just completely cling onto your lips and dry them out. I tried these on days where my lips were insanely moist and supple and I’d still get the same results. They remind me of a really terrible liquid lipstick where it just all cracks and balls up instantly. The formula was just absolutely terrible. I tried to work with these so hard and I continue to try but within a few minutes I just have to wipe them off.


I’ve never had a product work so terribly on my lips honestly. Which is so sad because the finish initially is so gorgeous, and it really does give your lips a beautiful blotted look. But once these dry down, it’s game over. The crustiness is just too much for me to get past. I do believe that these are long lasting and not transfer proof, because they literally feel like a powder on my lips. Now don’t get me wrong, I like that sometimes -my Lime Crime feels like powder in a smooth and soft way. These feel cakey and crusty. How? Why?!

So the verdict on these is definitely GIMMICK! I do still love the blotted lips, and I’m willing to deal with their shortcomings, because the alternative is just a nightmare!

img_4120-1

10 Comments Add yours

  1. ooo these are pretty! I want to try the Doozy shade! xx

    Like

  2. Kali Borovic says:

    Wow! I’ve heard so many people that love the Ultra Blotted Lips. Maybe you just got a bad one? xx.

    Like

    1. Noha ♡ says:

      Yeaah that’s what I’m thinking, so many people love them so hopefully I just got unlucky haha. x

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Nicole says:

    I’m so glad I passed on these. Also I love the idea of Gimmick or Gold.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Noha ♡ says:

      Aww thank you haha, was pretty proud of it 😛 x

      Like

  4. I’m with you on the gimmicky! I always want to touch up my lipstick when it’s looking worn so the concept of a blotted lip product has me baffled. Anyway, lovely post!

    Like

    1. Noha ♡ says:

      See I actually like the concept, and they didn’t even work for me haha. Thank you for reading x

      Liked by 1 person

  5. Victoria says:

    Aww. Too bad these didn’t work for you. I actually had three shades on my list but now, I’ll probably just get one to see how it’d fair on me.

    Like

    1. Noha ♡ says:

      Yeah, I mean a lot of people seem to love them so hopefully I just got a bad batch :/ Let me know how yours work out whenever you get them! xx

      Liked by 1 person

  6. Starluster says:

    Aw no! I got the shade Zuma and really love it. Its not THE best, but its okay for 6$

    Like

Leave a Reply

