Misjudged to Loved: Anastasia Beverly Hills Glow Kit

There’s nothing quite as difficult as admitting you were wrong. There’s also nothing more common in the beauty world. We’ve all been there; you try out a product and completely despite it, months later you find your heart open to giving it a second chance and suddenly it’s a holy grail product. How do they do it? Well, I’ve written my fair share of negative reviews, or experienced many products I absolutely cannot stand. More often than not, I find myself going back to said product a few months later and falling in love with them. It’s crazy honestly. Perhaps  my preferences change? Who knows. All I know is that it’s about time I started a series -shock, horror-  sharing my changed thoughts. Especially if you all trusted me the first time round! It’s time to set the record straight, as much as it pains me to usher in all the “I told you so”s…


I hated it. This product was one of the first few posts I wrote and I made my feelings very clear about it. I had bought into the hype of the Anastasia Beverly Hills Glow Kits and had to pick one up, only to be completely disappointed. I wrote an in depth review here about how much the glow kits let me down, and how much I didn’t understand the hype. My biggest problem was that the colours hardly showed up on my face. They just weren’t as intense and beautiful as people promised. I’m not even one for a bold over the top highlight, but it gave me nothing!


Well a couple of months ago, I decided to give it another whirl- not sure why. If I’m honest, I’ve been turning to it quite regularly ever since. Suddenly it was giving me that beautiful pigment. More strangely, I found myself reaching for the colours I had deemed unusable in the past. The duochrome pink Hard Candy shade has gotten the most use, along with the dark Mimosa which I thought would always apply too darkly. What I love so much about this palette is the shades apply so comparably to the Nicole Guerrerio palette I want so desperately. I’ve noticed the thing about ABH highlighters is they may look dark in the pan but they really always apply differently. 


I’ve been loving the finish of them, they leave the highlight looking dewy and sheen-y rather than too glittery or patchy. They’re so smooth and honestly nothing gives me a more beautiful nose highlight than them. It’s crazy, but I’m officially in love with this. Not complaining at all- glad I didn’t waste my money on it! I’m glad I picked this up after all, and even more glad that I gave it a second chance. I don’t know how it’s done it, but this palette has seriously redeemed itself.

Let me know if you’ve ever experienced this with a product before- and if you’d like to see more posts like this!

img_4120-1

4 Comments Add yours

  1. Starluster says:

    This happened to me with That Glow glow kit. I just did not like it at all, but after giving sun dipped a whirl I fell in love! I really want to get the Nicole Glow Kit. The colors looks gorgeous!

    Like

  2. Yay so happy to hear that you like this kit now! It really is so beautiful.

    Like

  3. Michelle says:

    I did the same with a Mac highlighter. I wasn’t overly fussed. Then when I was in store one day one of the girls had it on and when I asked what it was she told me and I was like, ‘hey I have that and I didn’t like it’ She showed me the brush she used to apply it and the rest is history! Now I love it!
    Michelle xx | http://www.thisismybliss.com.au
    IG: @shellie_belle_

    Like

  4. Dasa Lavric says:

    Beautiful palette ✨✨💛✨✨

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

