Mascara of The Week: Covergirl Lashblast Volume 

As far as drugstore mascaras go; this is the OG classic that absolutely everyone has tried out. This fat orange tube has been featured absolutely everywhere for years and years now. Admittedly it was one of my first couple of mascaras and I swore by it for some time but it has been about 3 years since I last used it. More recently I noticed my bestie’s lashes looking all kinds of on point, and when asked what she used she told me about how she swears by the Lashblast Waterproof formula.  

Now I rarely own any waterproof mascaras. I don’t notice that they make a huge difference, luckily I also don’t find it super hard to remove them but that’s besides the point haha. So I decided to order it and give it a try – only I would continue to buy more mascaras during a series designed to work through my own huge collection! 


I decided to give it a true test and forgo my trusty mascara Primer, which I was super concerned about. I gave my lashes a curl and began packing it on. I instantly noticed that the brush was a lot thicker than I remembered, but I loved how many plastic bristles there were- it looked promising. I also instantly noticed that they gave my lashes a lot of volume while keeping them separated and not looking clumpy. This was unusual because usually fresh mascaras either don’t give me much volume or they give too much. I was already super happy with it and I loved how fluttery my lashes looked. 

A few hours later- I was absolutely sold! My lashes are seriously not substantial at all, I’ve never expected them to do much for me and that’s fine. I especially never expect them to stay curled. I couldn’t believe that for the next 8 hours they stayed precisely in the position they were when I first curled them. They did not move. I couldn’t believe it! This may be expected by most of you, but my lashes have never ever held a curl! 

 I touched my lashes and they kind of felt tacky which was a bit strange. It wasn’t an uncomfortable sensation, I wasn’t aware until I touched them but it was a bit strange haha. Now, I will say this was impossible to remove. Which I wasn’t used to so I struggled to work with it haha. I broke out a sample of Cliniques Take The Day Off balm and that seemed to do the job when followed with my makeup eraser. I have found that I’m less tempted to use it because of how hard it was to remove- but I also have found that I always turn to it for long days or special nights because I KNOW it will deliver like nothing else I own! I do kind of want to give the non-waterproof formula a try and see if that works same or if it’s the waterproof that’s doing all the work. 

Let me know if you had a phase with this classic mascara or if it’s still a fave of yours! 

5 Comments Add yours

  1. I find that my lashes never hold a curl with Covergirl mascaras but they do come off so easily, I will agree with that!

    Like

  2. Starluster says:

    I feel so left out because when you say “everyone” tried this, I’m like but not me though 😭😂 lol, will totes add it to my list and pick it up if I travel.

    Like

    1. Noha ♡ says:

      Hahahaha aw sorry!! Yes you should add it to your list, super affordable and honestly this will hold your curl in place for years haha xx

      Liked by 1 person

  3. This sounds great! I don’t find there is a great difference with waterproof mascaras too tbh! I cry when I laugh a lot though so I am still searching for the perfect smudge free mascara!! xxx

    Like

  4. love this mascara!! so good

    Like

Leave a Reply

