Prime for Sunshine

I’m a firm believer that summer’s should be all about the priming. Whether you long for your makeup to brave the heat for  longer than a couple of minutes, or looking for that extra dewy glow to match the sun’s rays; either way, I sincerely believe that primer is the step you need to focus on. Investing in a good primer is the best way you can transform your base game, as far as I’m concerned a good primer will give you the best results for whatever look you’re going for. A dewy hydrating primer will not disappoint, it will make your entire base dewy. So while we often faff around by finding a perfect foundation for a purpose or a powder or a technique, I think we seriously underestimate the power a primer can have and the importance of the role it plays. So today we’re going to talk about a few primers that work perfectly for a selection of finishes we all want in the summertime; from a mattified t-zone to a hydrated all-over glow. Let’s get right into it!

IMG_2243

Avene Very High Protection Emulsion SPF 50 –This isn’t a primer. Let’s just get that out the way. But, it’s undeniable that SPF is the most important thing to incorporate into your routine, all year round as well as summer -but especially up your game in summer. So before getting into our second step I thought it’d be necessary to list a good SPF. The reason I chose this one is partially because using that high of an SPF makes me feel protected from any and all harms, sun rays to heartbreak. Secondly, this is one of the only SPF’s I have ever come across that does not give a greasy oily film under my makeup and eventually make my base fade away. On the contrary, this one works as a perfect base. Somehow, by some miracle of God, this stuff blurs out imperfections. It l eaves you with a perfect matte but hydrated finish that’s just what we need from an SPF after years of grease. Love this stuff!

IMG_2246

Boscia No Pores No Shine T Zone Treatment – We’ve all been there, left in complete shock at how much oil our t zone can produce in a matter of minutes, we’ve all experienced how impossible it is to control or avoid. I generally love Boscia’s treatments for oily skin, their multi-purpose peel off masks have proven to work incredibly well and I’m definitely in the market for their new mattifying setting spray. This stuff is no different, what I love most is the lack of a silicone feel, you’ll realize through the rest of the list that I hate any primer with a silicone texture, I prefer gel-like or moisturizer-like formulas. This gel applies so smoothly, it feels hydrating while also instantly mattifying, and it is one of the only primers that have seriously helped my t-zone to last a few extra hours!

IMG_2242

Too Faced Hangover X  Primer –While only few of us are brave enough to actually seek out that dewiness in summer, it’s usually rewarding. Many of us try to go for that mattifying long lasting look, when really we’re often left looking cakey or having our makeup melt off anyway. We all assume a dewy or hydrating primer is simply going to speed up the process- WRONG! This is definitely the most hydrating cure-all primer you will ever use. I have never used up a makeup product in my life- and I have repurchased this bad boy THREE TIMES! Yes, believe it. This stuff will hydrate like no other, smooth out imperfections, and brighten your skin. It’ll leave you with the most refreshed and young looking skin that any makeup product could possibly give you. The best part is, it also gives you longevity! I KNOW, it’s true. I can rave about this one forever and will probably eventually dedicate an entire post to it. It is life changing, and it is addictive, and it will leave you feeling refreshed and hydrated throughout the summer while looking plump and healthy too!

IMG_2244

Maybelline Master Prime Blur + Illuminate –Taking it one step further, why not go an illuminating primer too? This stuff is perfect for summer nights, as well as days. Giving you that perfect illumination that will catch the moonlight almost as beautifully as the ocean water does! Yes, it’s so dreamy that I’m making cheesy metaphors. This stuff is amazing because while giving you that Jaclyn Hill glow, it also blurs out any pores or imperfections beautifully. The best part is it comes with SPF, making it ideal for pulling off that look in the daytime too! This stuff is seriously seriously luxurious for the price!

IMG_2245

Benefit Porefessional Matte Rescue Gel- Don’t let the title fool you, this is the most hydrating product on here after Too Faced’s Hangover x. The gel texture of this is perfect, my skin just drinks it up and feels instantly plumper and more hydrated. Then, wait for it, it dries matte. It is completely matte and completely hydrating. Yes, you guessed it, it is magic. I still dont understand this product fully, all I know is that it had to make it onto this list because it is the perfect and ultimate happy medium. It is guaranteed to give you the perfect level of matteness to get you through the day, while also seriously hydrating your skin and leaving it looking healthy. This is also close to being repurchased which is huge for me!

Let me know what products or primers get you through the summer, or how you feel about some of these!

img_0731

20 Comments Add yours

  1. samanthalynmakeup says:

    This is super helpful !! I’ve been looking for a new primer, great post xoxo

    Like

    1. Aww thank you for reading! You need to try hangover, it’s amazing! Xoxo

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Daniela Soriano says:

    Thanks for sharing, and that Avéne sunscreen is amazing, totally recommend it!

    https://shesjustlikeheaven.wordpress.com/

    Like

  3. millieeclare says:

    Super helpful and great pics ⭐️ love your blog style so far xxxx

    Like

    1. Aww thank you I’m glad you’re enjoying it! Xoxo

      Like

  4. nandaispanda says:

    YES! I’ve been considering buying a primer for a few months, but wasn’t really sure what to go for. (I’m a primer virgin and wouldn’t probably recognise one from a face cream.) This is SO SO helpful, thank you for this post!

    Like

    1. Hahahahaha aww I’m so glad I could be of some help! You need to try the benefit and too faced, my absolute faves!! Xoxo

      Liked by 1 person

  5. This is so helpful! The Too Faced one is definitely on my to buy list now!x

    Like

    1. Yassss you need it in your life! Thank you for reading xoxo

      Like

  6. leighandlarson says:

    I’ve been thinking about The Too Faced Hangover primer, I think you’ve convinced me to buy it! xx

    Like

    1. Do it giiiiirl, it definitely won’t disappoint! Thank you for reading xoxo

      Liked by 1 person

  7. Bella Zoe says:

    Thanks for the sharing, off to Sephora to get my hands on Too Faced Hangover. x

    Like

    1. Yaaaaay, it’s the absolute best! Xoxo

      Like

  8. You’ve totally convinced me to get the Too Faced Hangover primer 😂😂 Haha can’t wait to get my hands on it. 👍 Great post sweetie 💗

    Like

    1. Hahahha trust me you won’t regret it! It is actual primer goals 🙌🏻🙌🏻🙌🏻thank you for reading love xoxo

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Haha okay!! 😁 You’re very welcome! 🙈💕

        Like

  9. differentlyc says:

    lovely post! i definitely want to try the benefit primer since its now available in south africa

    Like

    1. You’ll love it! Thanks for reading xoxo

      Like

  10. Aaliyah says:

    I want to try to Hangover Primer so bad! I have the Maybelline Master Prime and I love it so much. Great post girly! 🙂

    Like

  11. MentalCouchPotato says:

    Great post⭐️

    Like

Leave a comment