Palette of the Week: Modern Renaissance (PAWs 2)

Anastasia Beverly Hills is a brand that’s earnt itself infamy for their insane brow products and amazing eyeshadow palettes. Every now and again they decide to drop a new bomb palette on us, whether a collab or just a brands own. But no release has compared to the hype that the Modern Renaissance palette. Everyone is still harping on about it till today. Not complaining, I’m one of those people. I picked this up instantly. It was the dream palette, a perfect combination of warm shadows and some pinks. Knowing how insanely beautiful the formula of ABH shadows is didn’t help. I’m pretty sure everyone reading this owns it as well, it was love at first sight for most of us.

anastasia beverly hills modern renaissance

So, it’s finally back. You may have all noticed it’s been over a week since my last PAWs post, the truth is I didn’t wear makeup that often last week so I didn’t feel that the palette got a true trial. Now, this palette is the hardest one for me to believe. When I say that, I mean it’s impossible for me to believe that I barely ended up using this. I was so obsessed and in love with it, and the tones in it were ones I knew I’d use daily. But, as always I ended up straying from it about a week later. It’s always bothered me so much that I didn’t get as much use out of this. Every time I see it on Instagram (which is basically daily, seriously everyone loves it) I kick myself for not remembering to use it. So, I was very excited for it to be the palette of the week, let’s see how it fared…

ABH modern renaissance

Shock, horror; I’m in love. I hardly expected a different outcome. This palette is just an absolute dream. The shades are precisely the kinds I reach for daily in my other palettes. The warm tones neutrals and bright oranges, I even got a lot of use out of that bright pink. The shimmers are insanely gorgeous too! Now, let’s start with the formula. It was even better than I had remembered. I’ve realized now that this is hands down the creamiest, most buttery shadow formula I’ve ever tried. Don’t get me wrong, I still love my MUG and Morphe -but when it comes to butteriness, nothing can compare. It’s genuinely almost a cream formula. This texture makes a dream to blend, it leaves my lid looking smooth and almost blurred out.

The pigment is absolutely insane. Honestly, it’s almost problematic. You can see that my palette looks almost untouched, and that’s because I tap my brushes into it ever so lightly and still get a punch of colour. You have to use a very light hand with these, or go IN for an intense pop of colour which I love to do with the shimmery shades or the shades on my lid.

modern renaissance swatches

As always, here are a few swatches of the shades I reached for the most this past week. Starting at the bottom, the shade Vermeer swatches beautifully but somehow wouldn’t photograph well. The light caught it wrong- which is definitely not the case when it’s on your lids! This is my absolute favourite shade in here. It’s the most gorgeous champagne shimmery colour, and this has completely replaced my love for MUG’s Starry Eyed for my inner corner- which makes me so happy, that’s exactly the kind of thing I wanted to get out of this series! Moving on up, we have Love Letter which is the bold fuschia/pink, and I tap my blending brush very lightly in this and swipe it across my crease after I’ve completed the look, it gives it a pink undertone without overpowering the rest of the look.

Next we have Cyprus Umber and Raw Sienna which have gotten use every single day, I love Raw Sienna and Burnt Orange all over my crease as transition shades, and then Cyprus Umber is hands down the perfect, most beautiful dark brown shade I have ever come across. I’m obsessed. Finally, we have Venetian Red and Realgar. Surprisingly, I’ve been loving Venetian Red on the lower lash line, I use it very lightly and really blend it out and it looks so beautiful. Do we even have to talk about Realgar? This is me in a shade. I live for my oranges and use them absolutely everyday- this was gorgeous!

All in all, this was a huge huge success. Let me know what palettes you’ve been loving lately or which ones you’d like to see next from my collection 

bloguary

28 Comments Add yours

  1. An ordinary gal says:

    This palette is still the dream for me ❤ Been loving this and have been also doing #ProjectPAW lol. I realised though, one may need to use a palette for a month to do any damage! Baby steps though. I discovered an Elf palette and a wet n wild palette at the bottom of the beauty drawer, due to your blog, so I'm enjoying this a lot.

    Like

    1. Aww I’m so glad you’re doing it too!! Can’t wait to see your thoughts on the palettes you try. I know, a week is short, but I’m not planning to like hit pan or anything I just want to dabble in them each so I can get through them all haha. Thank you so much for reading!! Love having you on here x

      Like

  2. Azra says:

    Such a beautiful palette. Love your photos. xx

    https://simpleserenity.wordpress.com

    Like

    1. Thank you so much angeel, I love yours too honestly! One of my favourite blogs lately x

      Liked by 1 person

  3. georgicox says:

    Such a gorgeous palette! Really enjoyed reading this post xx

    Like

    1. Aww thank you so much for reading angel x

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Ema Brewer says:

    I NEED this!! 😍 it’s just gained a firm place in to ‘to buy’ list! Look at that pigment 👀 😲 x

    Like

    1. Giirl you need it! The pigment is so insane, the swatches don’t even do it justice! Thank you so much for reading xx

      Liked by 1 person

  5. Azra says:

    I nominated you for Sunshine Blogger Award, Check the post if you like. xx

    https://simpleserenity.wordpress.com

    Like

    1. Aww thank you so much- I love these blogger tags! I’ll definitely get on it ASAp xx

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Azra says:

        You are welcome. Can’t wait to read your answers. xx

        Like

  6. Nicole says:

    I bought this palette a while ago and it’s so gorgeous, I really need to break it out again sometime really soon.

    Like

    1. So so gorgeous! It just has everything you need really. Thank you so much for stopping by x

      Liked by 1 person

  7. danniijane says:

    This is my favourite ever palette😍 xx

    Like

    1. It’s such a gorgeous one! Thank you so much for reading x

      Liked by 1 person

  8. Lynn says:

    Raw Sienna is also a favorite of mine!

    Like

    1. It’s such a perfect crease colour! Thank you for reading x

      Like

  9. Kali Borovic says:

    Gorgeous photos! I’m dying to get my hands on this palette xx.

    Like

    1. Thank you so much!! It’s amazing, you haave to get it haha. x

      Liked by 1 person

  10. Daily Two says:

    I would love to have this palette ! Gorgeous photos btw ! ❤

    Like

  11. Sophie in Wonderland xo says:

    Yess i love this palette still its so beautiful 😍😍 xx

    Like

  12. This is such an awesome palette; my favourite shade is Primavera, hate to run out of it one day!

    Are you thinking of whipping out the UD x Gwen Stefani palette for the next PAW? I have that palette too, but would love to see what ideas someone else comes up with 🙂

    -Cindy

    Like

  13. Roberta says:

    this is the palette of my dream. Now i want to save my money to buy it. The shades are amazing

    Like

    1. You shooould, so worth the money! x

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Roberta says:

        Really thanks for your post. Do you want to check my blog?

        Like

  14. Leigh Smith92 says:

    Omg I’ve been eyeing up this palette for ages. I think I will definitely invest now.
    Lovely pictures!
    Love Leigh
    http://Www.loveleighx.com

    Like

    1. You shouuld, it’s flawless! Thank you so much for reading x

      Liked by 1 person

  15. Best palette ever….. so amazing….

    Like

Leave a comment